Using 12/2 romex in walls with low voltage LED above cabinet lighting

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-07-17, 09:20 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using 12/2 romex in walls with low voltage LED above cabinet lighting

Hi all,

I've recently installed new cabinets in my kitchen and would like to put new low voltage lighting above the cabinets in two sections. My question is - can I use the 12/2 romex in between the LED strips? and how would I connect the LED wire (+ and -) to the hot and neutral romex?

To give a better description, I have a 20 amp circuit feeding a dimmer switch with 12/2 romex. Then the 12/2 continues from the switch, behind the wall, up to a transformer on top of a section of cabinets. Then the transformer is wired directly to the first LED strip. The LED strip would then need to be wired to another 12/2 wire that goes behind the wall to feed the other section of the cabinets.

Basically, think of a long strip of LED low voltage lights with a 15 foot length of 12/2 romex in the middle, connected with wing nuts (plus to hot, negative to neutral)

Will this work, does it violate codes?

I just can't seem to think (or find on the forums) on how to keep all the upper cabinet lights on one switch without running romex through the walls. I don't want to rip out the romex that is there or run low voltage wiring in the walls.

Thank you for any and all help.

I've attached a rough diagram for reference.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-07-17, 03:19 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,162
Received 89 Votes on 82 Posts
It's okay to use Romex for low voltage lighting. Normally, for DC, black is negative.

One thing to recheck. Be sure that when hooking up the LED strips end to end, that the first strip far end terminals will support the load of he second strip. Otherwise you have to run the feed wiring (Romex) from the second strip all the way to the near end (the powered end) of the first strip.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-17, 05:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,772
Received 1,193 Votes on 1,104 Posts
Allan makes a good point about low voltage strip lights.

It is usually required to wire each strip directly to the transformer. Even if it's not mentioned in the instructions or required...... powering them that way will ensure they are the same brightness.
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-17, 07:51 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,667
Received 223 Votes on 196 Posts
I normally use 18/2 thermostat cable for LED strips. Much easier to connect to the strips and splice.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: