Recessed Lighting - Layout Recommendations

Old 11-11-17, 03:08 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Recessed Lighting - Layout Recommendations

I am new to the lighting world and am trying to make sense of my research. I have a family room with 8' ceilings. We are renovating the room which includes updating the fireplace with a new mantel/surround, moving the TV to the left wall, and removing a single 4-bulb fan/lighting fixture and replacing it with recessed lighting. We'd like to accent the fireplace somehow.

Current condition:
The fan is located in the center of the room with 2 switches (one for the fan - one for the lights). It'd be great if I could use those same circuits so I don't have to rip into the wall to fish line through the header beams.

Questions:
How much light do I need? I have read online recommendations of 10-50 foot candles (lumens per sq. ft). What is correct? I assume my LED recessed lights will be 650 lumens. My room is 308 sq. ft.
What size of fixture should I use? 6-inch sounds like it is pretty standard?
If I want to accent the fireplace with 2 directional lights - does this change the general lighting in the room?
Does placement of the TV matter? Is there a way to avoid general reflections off the TV?

** Note, I've attached a couple drawings with some possible thoughts, including the room's layout. The joists are 16" on center from left to right (parallel with the fireplace wall). There is one 8 feet from the bottom wall that I'll have to pass wire past. That's my only known surprise up in the ceiling I'll have to fish wire around somehow.

Any thoughts for this rookie would be greatly appecicated!

Attached Images    
Old 11-11-17, 03:56 PM
Group Moderator
Received 896 Upvotes on 757 Posts
Really there are no hard fast rules on light placement and it is really up to the individual.