Light Fixture with two white wires

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-26-17, 10:46 AM
_
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Light Fixture with two white wires

Hi,

I tried changing the light fixture on my own and to my surprise there are two white wires coming out of fixture. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that the light has two on/off switches.

Unlike my new light, the older one also had two white wires. The new one has 1 each of black, white and green. I have attached photos.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-26-17, 03:02 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,666
Received 223 Votes on 196 Posts
You likely have a switch loop. You should find which one is hot when the switch is on (mark it black with electrical taps) and connect that one to the black wire of the fixture. The other white should connect to the white of the fixture. The ground should be connected to the bare wires (ground) in the box.
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-17, 05:23 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,875
Received 78 Votes on 73 Posts
Hi,just curious,are there other fixtures controlled by the same switch?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 11-27-17, 08:48 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,156
Received 87 Votes on 81 Posts
(information only)

Technically you will (as part 2 of this project done at your leisure), need to find the switch box with the other end of the the white wire you put black tape on (was hot in some switch positions). I take it that this switch box will have only one cable (you could say bundle) of wires coming in, the 3 wires from the ceiling box pictured.

Exchange the white wire with the red wire. So the red wire will go from the common (usually dark stained) switch terminal to your light fixture and the white wire (should have black tape at both ends) will go from the vacated switch terminal to be connected to the red wire up in the box pictured.

(The other switch box will have the cable for the power coming in also. No changes are needed there for now.)
 

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-27-17 at 09:11 AM.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: