Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Landscape lighting woes

12-05-17, 12:42 PM   #1 (permalink)  
Landscape lighting woes

Hi -- electrical newbie here. I used a mix of old fixtures (that were set up when we moved in) and new ones to reinvigorate our garden landscape lighting. Now I seem to be burning out bulbs way too quickly, and I assume it's my setup.

On each side of the yard, I'm running a low-voltage transformer with an out of 12V 300W Max, with about 75' of 14G wire, and -- on the north side of the yard -- the following lights (totaling up to 117W):
  • 12V-11W
  • 12V-11W
  • 120V-50W (this seems weird, but was one of the pre-existing lights)
  • 12V-20W
  • 12V/24V-5W
  • 12V-20W
Any idea why they'd (especially the 12V-11W and the 20W/12V bulbs) be burning out so quickly? I'm attaching a sketch showing the full setup. Note that there are two transformers (the boxes at the start of the wire), and the problems are happening on both sides.

Attached Images

Last edited by deanpickles; 12-05-17 at 12:44 PM. Reason: Clarification

Sponsored Links
Group Moderator

NJ

12-05-17, 02:42 PM   #2 (permalink)  
Do those transformers have multi tap voltage selection for output voltage ?

Some high wattage transformers run at an exceptionally high voltage until loaded to at least half their rated wattage. Many of those bigger transformer have a selectable output voltage means where you can lower the output voltage.

You could check the voltage at the transformers with the lights connected to see what the actual voltage is with the lights connected.

~ Pete ~

12-05-17, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)  
I don't think so... it seems to be fixed. Attached is a shot of the back of the transformer if this helps.

Attached Images

Group Moderator

NJ

12-05-17, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)  
Check the area where the low voltage wiring connects.

~ Pete ~