Installing a wifi light switch


  #1  
Old 12-15-17, 01:46 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing a wifi light switch

Trying to install a Wemo switch but I donít understand the existing wiring. See pic. The ground and neutral wires are twisted together. On top of this there is a forth brown wire coming directly from the old switch that is twisted with them as well. Anybody knows whatís the purpose of this forth wire and is this wiring compatible with a smart switch?

Name:  Switch wires.jpg
Views: 538
Size:  88.2 KB

Thanks,

Adrian.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-15-17 at 01:59 PM. Reason: reoriented/cropped/enhanced picture
  #2  
Old 12-15-17, 02:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

No problem.

Remove the brown and black wires and twist them together. This is the HOT to your wemo. The white splice is the NEUTRAL to your wemo. The red wire is the LOAD/LIGHT to your wemo. The bare ground goes to the ground of the wemo.
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-17, 02:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
In further checking...... the black/brown wires and the red wire can go to either black switch lead.

Name:  wemo switch.JPG
Views: 2494
Size:  21.4 KB
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-17, 03:25 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Pjmax. Isn't an issue that right now the brown, ground and neutral are twisted together?
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-17, 03:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Sorry.... I don't see that in the picture. Am I missing something ??
Maybe a second picture with the wiring pulled out a little.

Hard to believe a ground can be connected to a hot wire and work.
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-17, 03:51 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The brown is not connected to the black. It's coming from the back of the switch. It's part of the switch. That's why I'm confused.
 
  #7  
Old 12-15-17, 03:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Yes.... there are two ways to connect that switch. Push-in connections on the back or the screw terminals on the side. Rather than splicing black and brown together and adding a single jumper to the switch. Some one connected one hot wire to the screw terminal...... black and just stuck the brown in the push-in. Black and brown are now connected together internally inside the switch.

After all the wires are off the switch except for the brown...... hold the brown wire wire in one hand and the switch in the other hand. Gently turn the switch and pull the brown wire out.
 
  #8  
Old 12-15-17, 04:13 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please see pictures as requested
 
Attached Images   
  #9  
Old 12-15-17, 04:47 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Still doesn't make sense. If the black and brown are connected internally in the switch why is the brown connected to the ground and neutral?
 
  #10  
Old 12-15-17, 04:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Neutral is white. I see no white in that picture.
The bare wire connected to the ground screw is the bare copper ground.
The black is on the screw terminal and brown is pushed into the connection that is the same as the black screw.

In the U.S. brown is a hot wire. Only white and gray can be neutral.
 
  #11  
Old 12-15-17, 04:53 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can see the neutral in the first picture
 
  #12  
Old 12-15-17, 04:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
You're serious.... right ?
You're not pulling my leg ?

Yes.... in the first picture I see two white wires connected together to each other.
 
  #13  
Old 12-15-17, 05:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I'm really serious and out of ideas. If you look to the top right of the picture you see the neutral connected to the brown and ground
 
  #14  
Old 12-15-17, 05:42 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is the wiring "diagram"
 
Attached Images  
  #15  
Old 12-15-17, 07:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Ok. I see your diagram. That is exactly what I see. That is also 100% correct.

Now... Please explain in detail where you see neutral, brown and ground connected.
It's not shown on your diagram.
 
  #16  
Old 12-15-17, 08:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm an idiot. I was assuming that they are connected to each other, but they are not. Correct?
 
  #17  
Old 12-15-17, 08:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Correct.... they are not. If they were you would have sparks.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: