Help mounting new Kichler vanity light


  #1  
Old 12-16-17, 10:32 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 262
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Help mounting new Kichler vanity light

Hi
This model light has its own mounting strap/plate that mounts to junction box and holds the fixture in place as well. The issue is the pass through for the wires is 1/2" in diameter. Not a big deal if the house wires come through this and the fixture wires are attached to them there. The issue is that a note is glued to the inside of the fixture stating "Caution Risk of Fire Push conductors into junction box". My reading of this is they want all wires (conductors) to go back into the junction box and that isn't going to happen through that 1/2" hole, especially not with wire connectors on. It is a Kichler fixture, model 45297.

Name:  45297NBR.jpg
Views: 154
Size:  11.6 KB

By the way, have seen at least 10 videos that don't do that. The installers just leave the connected wires in the back of the space where the fixture is mounted to the mounting strap/plate so I'm not sure what Kichler is doing with that note. Any thoughts?

Thanks
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-16-17 at 10:57 AM. Reason: added picture from link
  #2  
Old 12-16-17, 10:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,076
Received 3,976 Upvotes on 3,569 Posts
Is there a full metal box/pan behind the canopy ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-17, 11:26 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,463
Received 128 Upvotes on 113 Posts
You could add a round old work box.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Carlon-1...18RR/100404072
 
  #4  
Old 12-16-17, 11:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,076
Received 3,976 Upvotes on 3,569 Posts
They have a junction box behind the light.

Some of those fixtures just come with a mounting bar. In that case the splice must be in the electrical box. If that fixture has a full metal pan/back box.... then the splice can be contained in that area.
 
  #5  
Old 12-16-17, 01:16 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 262
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Thanks for the reply PJMAX

Yes there is a full plate behind the canopy. Canopy screws on to the plate and creates a box, of sorts. Rotate pic 90* to the right to get upright view. So you're saying the canopy attached to this creates a junction box on its own and we're good to go? Any thoughts on their safety message?
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 12-16-17, 01:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,076
Received 3,976 Upvotes on 3,569 Posts
I would consider that an acceptable wiring box and
the splices can be contained in there.
 
  #7  
Old 12-16-17, 01:33 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 262
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Thanks! While I have you... The fixture has a ground wire and the instructions say to attach it to the ground from house wiring suggesting a bypass of the grounding screw on the plate. The house grounds are grounded to junction box so would that be enough or should a wire go to the grounding screw in the mounting plate?
 
  #8  
Old 12-16-17, 01:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,076
Received 3,976 Upvotes on 3,569 Posts
Technically the house ground wire should be attached to that screw and then to the light. Sometimes there is no actual ground wire in the box and the mounting screws suffice. Then just the light connects to that ground screw.
 
  #9  
Old 12-16-17, 02:05 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 262
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Thanks PJMax. Appreciate your input.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: