Wiring For Motion Light


  #1  
Old 12-17-17, 12:30 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring For Motion Light

Hi,
I am replacing an existing motion light that is no longer working. The house was built in the 1950s, and there is 1 white wire, 1 red wire,(no black) and 1 green wire coming from the junction box. I've got it connected red wire to black wire from light, and white wire to white wire from light, with the green wire grounded. There is no power to the light when turning the switch back on. I've tried 2 different lights, changed light bulbs and checked the circuit breaker. I would appreciate any suggestions on what the issue might be. Do I have it wired correctly, or is it another problem?
Thank you
 
  #2  
Old 12-17-17, 04:37 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,081
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
HI,it sounds like the new switch needs a neutral , will the light go on if you wirenut the red and white together? What is the model# of the new switch.
Geo


Mod note: Red to white does NOT sound like a correct test step!
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-17-17 at 11:55 AM.
  #3  
Old 12-17-17, 09:26 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Geochurchi
HI,it sounds like the new switch needs a neutral , will the light go on if you wirenut the red and white together? What is the model# of the new switch.
Geo
Hi,
Thank you for the response. I haven't tried wiring the red and white wires together yet. The new light is a Utilitech #0803989.
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-17, 11:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,053
Received 3,973 Upvotes on 3,566 Posts
You have red, white and ground as the house wiring.

The red from house goes to black of the fixture.
White from the house goes to white of the fixture.
Ground to ground.

If the light doesn't work.... you need to confirm 120vac between the white and red supply wires. Remember.... if the light doesn't have a test mode.... it may not come on in the daylight. I couldn't find much info on that light.
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-17, 01:56 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,081
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Pete ,OPD stated only a red ,white ,ground in the box, I am assuming it was a switchleg.
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 12-17-17, 03:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,053
Received 3,973 Upvotes on 3,566 Posts
Sorry Geo.... a red, white and ground in a lighting junction box does not suggest a switch loop. Those color wires in a switch box may be a switch loop.

In order to be a switch loop...... there would need to be two cables/four wires at the light junction box. Power in and switch out.
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-17, 04:45 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,081
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Hi Pete, guess I should have read it more closely I thought he was mounting it at the switch location.
Geo
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: