GFCI stopped working after a flood...

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-27-17, 10:37 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI stopped working after a flood...

I have 3 GFCI in two bathroom areas that no longer work after our home flooded. Neither the test or reset buttons are able to be pressed on any of the outlets. In addition, all of our exterior outlets no longer work. I turned the main to off before water came into the house, and the water only reached 12" once inside.

I have little experience with electrical wiring, but have changed outlets, 2 and 3 way switches, etc. With regard to where to begin correcting my problem, my guess is to replace the GFCI's and hope that also allows current to return to the outdoor outlets. I come here for suggestions, and thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 12-27-17, 10:47 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,426
Received 747 Votes on 686 Posts
If the wiring in the walls got wet and especially if it was submerged it may need to be replaced. GFCI are very sensitive to stray and leaking currents. Even during new home construction the wiring cannot be installed until after the roof is on to protect the wiring from rain.
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-17, 08:25 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wiring shouldnt have gotten wet, as the water only reached 12".
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-17, 09:16 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
take the load side wiring off and see if it will reset. If so problem is down stream from there.
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-17, 10:00 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,426
Received 747 Votes on 686 Posts
Just because your outlets are higher than 12" doesn't mean all the wiring in the walls is that height.
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-17, 12:22 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, update. I replaced all 3 gfci. Two in the master bathroom now work fine, but the third in the hall bath doesn't work. The outdoor outlets also still don't work.
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-17, 05:14 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Did you take the wires off the load side of the one not working?
 
  #8  
Old 01-08-18, 11:09 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
The wiring shouldnt have gotten wet, as the water only reached 12".

Water will wick up much higher than the water level due to drywall and insulation in a wall. I suspect that much of your wiring should be replaced. Whether or not it is required to be replaced would be up to the local AHJ.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: