Dimmer switch on 3 way?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-18, 04:42 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mass
Posts: 321
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dimmer switch on 3 way?

I have recessed lighting in my basement. I have 3 light switches that control them. One in the garage, one at the walk out basement door and one at the top of the stairs. I want to put a dimmer switch On the one at the top of the stairs. Is that possible? Can I just replace the current light switch with a 3 way dimmer?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-05-18, 04:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
Yes and no.
FYI.... that's called a 4 way system. A 4 way system is 2) 3 way switches and then additional 4 way switches.

Some dimmers claim to work with existing switches. The claim relies on the wiring being set up a certain way.

I no longer will install any single 3 way dimmers. I install a dimmer and then use additional slave dimmers. This method always works. The wiring will not be plug and play. Wire connections will need to be changed.
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-18, 05:09 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mass
Posts: 321
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay thank you. My brother had looked at it awhile back and said because of the way it's wired with the travelers the dimmer switch would need to b at the garage location.
 
  #4  
Old 01-05-18, 05:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
Depending on the dimmer.... that is correct. Some dimmers need to be at the line end and some at the load end.

With a dedicated dimmer and its slave remotes.... the dimmer can be at either three way switch location.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: