Over counter and above cabinet lighting.


  #1  
Old 01-21-18, 06:51 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 215
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Over counter and above cabinet lighting.

I am replacing the back splash in my fitchen so I would like to take the time to install over counter and above cabinet lighting.

My kitchen has 3 separate sections of cabinets. I would prefer to have the lighting connected but one sections of the cabinets (the only one with existing over cabinet lighting and a light switch in on the far wall away from the other cabinets. The only way to run wire would be to go into the basement (Not impossible but quite a bit more work.

What I was considering doing what installing electrical boxes above each of the cabinets getting power from the countertop outlets and using smart switches to control the LED lights. I would repalce the existing switch that is powering a set of over counter lights with a smart switch that would control smart plug in switches above the other cabinets.

are there are there any code issues I should deal with. i.e can I add a box above the cabinet that gets power from a GFCI protected counter top outlet?

Appreciate any comments.
 
  #2  
Old 01-21-18, 08:36 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,752
Received 672 Upvotes on 570 Posts
Any receptacle in a kitchen needs to be GFCI protected. The GFCI needs to be readily accessible, so coming off the load side of a existing GFCI is a good plan.
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-18, 08:42 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,893
Received 163 Upvotes on 142 Posts
Hardwired lighting cannot be fed from the small appliance branch circuits. You will need to find another source.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 01-21-18 at 09:40 AM.
  #4  
Old 01-21-18, 08:53 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 215
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replys. Earlier this morning, i did find the reference that indicated that I could not use the countertop outlet circuit to power the over counter lights. I have some lighting circuits i could use but doesn't give me a readily accessible GFCI if i want outlets above the cabinets. I suppose I could install a GFCI inside the cabinets and run that to the outlets above the cabinets. What about GFCI in each box thst will be located above the cabinets
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-18, 08:58 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,752
Received 672 Upvotes on 570 Posts
If you are installing receptacles off the SABC It sounds OK the way I read the code. 210.52(b)(3) If you are not using cord connected lights and hard wiring them, you will need to find another source.
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-18, 09:38 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 215
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Tolyn
These lights would be plugged in to outlets, with the outlet boxes installed above the cabinets. I am thinking that these boxes would be part of the 20amp circuit that is powering the countertop outlets.
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-18, 09:42 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,893
Received 163 Upvotes on 142 Posts
Receptacles above 20" or more above the countertop do not require GFI protection as the code does not consider them serving the countertop.

The code does not say that cord connected lighting cannot be plugged into the receptacles. It says no hardwired lighting.
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-18, 10:53 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 215
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PCBoss
I think your explanation is clear but Just to make sure.
If I wire up my electrical outlets above the cabinets to the 20 amp outlets at the countertop, I should be ok. The new outlet boxes were be GFCI protected as they are extension of the countertop GFCI protected circuits but GFCI would not be required for those outlets if I used a separate circuit.

Then I can plug my new lighting into the new outlet boxes.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: