Installing Lutron Maestro on old outlet


  #1  
Old 03-01-18, 12:14 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing Lutron Maestro on old outlet

Hello all,
I saw a lot of tutorial videos and thought it was easy to upgrade my old switch. The house was built it 1947s and I found out while taking apart the wires that I have no ground wire. It has 1 black, 1 white, 1 red. No metal box

The original switch was a flip switch with an outlet. The switch side had the black and white connection while the outlet had the red and a wire to the white wire. Seems confusing but I kind of typed a picture below. (formatting did not come out correctly...)
------------------------
B/(Switch)/W (with an extra wire connecting below)
/---------- /
/---------- /
R/(Outlet)/wire connecting to the white
-----------------------
I capped the red wire and ground wire on the switch.
I connected the black wire to the bronze screw and white wire to black screw.
Light does not turn on. I saw from Lutron guide that says to connect the live wire to the black screw. I will do that when I return but not sure if that will do anything.

I checked the wires connected to the light and it has black and white wires.

I read a lot of other tutorials that one said to wire the black and red together into 1 screw. Others say to leave out the white and connect the hot wires... (seems dangerous).

Any suggestions? I'm a handy guy but never did electricity... One thread I saw mentioned that Lutron lights won't function if it's not connected to a ground wire. Is this true?

Thank you
 

Last edited by imYoungxD; 03-01-18 at 12:45 PM.
  #2  
Old 03-01-18, 10:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,096
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Lutron Maestro what ?? Dimmer ?
A dimmer cannot be connected to a receptacle.
A dimmer doesn't require a ground.
1947 house, old three wire cable with no ground and no metal box..... is it a plastic box ?

If you had a switch receptacle combo there..... then black is hot, red is switched hot out to the light and white is neutral. A dimmer would connect to the red and black, The white would be capped off.

Pictures are always helpful.... How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-18, 05:22 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply Pete

Model: Lutron Maestro MACL-153M-WH
Plastic box
Photos attached
Left wire is black, bottom is white, top is red

Should I proceed with capping off white and connecting black and red to the switch?
The red wire insulation is cracking and falling apart. Not sure what I should do.
 
Attached Images   

Last edited by imYoungxD; 03-02-18 at 07:49 AM.
  #4  
Old 03-02-18, 08:19 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So I connected the switch with the red and black wire. still didn't work. Then I used another switch that I bought and that one worked! I was working with a bad switch!

Thanks Pete!
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-18, 08:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,096
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Glad to help.

That looks like a bakelite or phenolic type box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: