Installing Lutron Maestro on old outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-18, 01:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing Lutron Maestro on old outlet

Hello all,
I saw a lot of tutorial videos and thought it was easy to upgrade my old switch. The house was built it 1947s and I found out while taking apart the wires that I have no ground wire. It has 1 black, 1 white, 1 red. No metal box

The original switch was a flip switch with an outlet. The switch side had the black and white connection while the outlet had the red and a wire to the white wire. Seems confusing but I kind of typed a picture below. (formatting did not come out correctly...)
------------------------
B/(Switch)/W (with an extra wire connecting below)
/---------- /
/---------- /
R/(Outlet)/wire connecting to the white
-----------------------
I capped the red wire and ground wire on the switch.
I connected the black wire to the bronze screw and white wire to black screw.
Light does not turn on. I saw from Lutron guide that says to connect the live wire to the black screw. I will do that when I return but not sure if that will do anything.

I checked the wires connected to the light and it has black and white wires.

I read a lot of other tutorials that one said to wire the black and red together into 1 screw. Others say to leave out the white and connect the hot wires... (seems dangerous).

Any suggestions? I'm a handy guy but never did electricity... One thread I saw mentioned that Lutron lights won't function if it's not connected to a ground wire. Is this true?

Thank you
 

Last edited by imYoungxD; 03-01-18 at 01:45 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-18, 11:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,599
Received 417 Votes on 390 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Lutron Maestro what ?? Dimmer ?
A dimmer cannot be connected to a receptacle.
A dimmer doesn't require a ground.
1947 house, old three wire cable with no ground and no metal box..... is it a plastic box ?

If you had a switch receptacle combo there..... then black is hot, red is switched hot out to the light and white is neutral. A dimmer would connect to the red and black, The white would be capped off.

Pictures are always helpful.... How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-18, 06:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply Pete

Model: Lutron Maestro MACL-153M-WH
Plastic box
Photos attached
Left wire is black, bottom is white, top is red

Should I proceed with capping off white and connecting black and red to the switch?
The red wire insulation is cracking and falling apart. Not sure what I should do.
 
Attached Images   

Last edited by imYoungxD; 03-02-18 at 08:49 AM.
  #4  
Old 03-02-18, 09:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I connected the switch with the red and black wire. still didn't work. Then I used another switch that I bought and that one worked! I was working with a bad switch!

Thanks Pete!
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-18, 09:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,599
Received 417 Votes on 390 Posts
Glad to help.

That looks like a bakelite or phenolic type box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: