Help with fan switch!


  #1  
Old 03-12-18, 12:29 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hamilton nj
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help with fan switch!

So i just went to lowes to get a replacement fan switch because the one in my fan stopped working and the fan was stuck on. I have a 4 speed fan, and they only had 3 speed fan switches. Is it okay to use the 3 speed switch and just leave one of the wires loose? I mean I installed the 3 speed and it works fine, just missing a setting. I just want to make sure before i put it all back together that it is safe to leave that one wire loose inside there.

Thanks

Jay
 
  #2  
Old 03-12-18, 02:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,641
Received 3,324 Upvotes on 2,985 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That should be ok.

There are many fan pull chain control switches. There is no such thing as a universal switch. The replacement must match the old one.... exactly. In the following picture.... all are three speed switches yet all work differently. The same with four speed switches. Notice the same terminals but in different positions. That is very important. My recommendation is to keep the old switch in case you need to match it exactly one day.

Name:  s1.gif
Views: 55
Size:  3.8 KB
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-18, 02:23 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hamilton nj
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah, ill hang onto the old one. The fan works fine, i just want to make sure if i put this back together there is no fire hazard having one wire just sitting there not plugged into a switch. I think its fine bc there is no power going to it?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: