Timer Switch - LED lights not working


  #1  
Old 03-25-18, 10:55 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Timer Switch - LED lights not working

Hello,

I recently purchased and installed a VPT24-1PZ Leviton Timer switch to replace a Honeywell TI-070 Honeywell switch. I bought the leviton since the TI-070 would not turn on the LED's and thought the switch was not compatible with LED's. After installing the VPT24-1PZ the LED lights still do NOT work. Any thoughts why the LED lights will not work on my outside light fixtures?

Thank You,
Dave
 
  #2  
Old 03-25-18, 10:59 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,949
Received 716 Upvotes on 637 Posts
First off did you check if current is getting to the light sockets? If so then is current getting to the switch location?
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-18, 11:00 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, the 'non' LED bulbs work just fine. Only the LED's don't work.
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-18, 11:02 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
That timer uses a relay so it will correctly switch any type of lighting.

My guess is the problem may be at the first fixture. Have you tried a temporary bulb in the first fixture ?
Your next step is to check with a voltmeter for 120vac.
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-18, 11:06 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There are 3 bulbs in the fixture. One is an LED. One is empty. One is incandescant. The LED light does not turn on. The incandescant one does. What do you mean by temporary bulb.
 
  #6  
Old 03-25-18, 11:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
You didn't explain in detail anything about the light(s). If any lamp at all works in it..... it's not a supply problem. Is that fixture designed to take LED bulbs ? It doesn't appear like it is.
 
  #7  
Old 03-25-18, 11:15 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's all good now. I guess the base is a little thicker than the base of the legacy bulbs so after giving it a couple of extra turns it now works.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: