Light Switch not working anymore.


  #1  
Old 04-18-18, 05:55 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Light Switch not working anymore.

I have a light switch to turn on/off for the outlet that I plug in my lamp. Ever since I have replaced the outlet, now the outlet has power but the light switch does not turn on/off the outlet. I have replaced a new outlet and all the wires connected back to the same way and now it's not working. I have read many forums and they have given lots of good advises but still not working. Can anyone help me? I have posted the pics so you can understand my problems better. Please let me know if you have any questions or need any additional info from me to solve this issue. Thank you. jp
 
Attached Images     
  #2  
Old 04-18-18, 06:19 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,041
Received 851 Votes on 786 Posts
Previously did your outlet have one socket that stayed on all the time and one socket that was controlled by the switch? If so then did you break off the connecting tab on the new socket you installed? If you left the tab in place then both sockets will be hot all the time. If you broke off the tab it separates them so one can be switched while the other stays hot all the time.
 
  #3  
Old 04-18-18, 06:27 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Pilot, The old outlet both top and bottom outlet was controlled by the switch. Also I have broke the brass tab on the hot side where the black and red wire but I have not done the same thing on the left side which is for the neutral. Should I do on the neutral side too? Please advise and thank you. This thing is driving me crazy. Another thing about this light switch and the socket is I am not sure why both the black and red wire have power when disconnected from the outlet or the light switch. Someone from another site told me to test and see which wire black or red should always have power on all the time and the other wire should be controlled by the switch but when i disconnected both black and red wires from the outlet and the light switch and test with my digital meter ready, both black and red wires from the light switch and the outlet has power and that is strange. Thank you again. jp
 
  #4  
Old 04-18-18, 07:02 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
At the switch box do you have two or more whites connected only to each other?
 
  #5  
Old 04-30-18, 12:20 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry Ray, I didn't get any alert for your question and no, there is only one black and one red wire to the switch. No ground or neutral to the switch. Thank you
 
  #6  
Old 04-30-18, 02:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
neutral to the switch
Not on the switch. I was asking in the switch box.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 05-01-18, 08:16 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, in the switch box, i do see bunch of white wires winged nut together. thanks
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-18, 11:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
That red wire should be on the brass screw on the switch. Since that is a plastic box there should be a ground splice inside the box. There should be a tail from that ground splice to the switch's ground screw.

Based on the switch wiring and the receptacle wiring.... the receptacle should be 1/2 switched.
 
  #9  
Old 05-07-18, 05:04 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax, i have had removed that and just the angle of the pic, you would think it is connected to the green screw but its not. In fact on my post, I did mention nothing is connected to the green screw. there is no ground wire connected to the green screw. Just the red and black connecting to the brass screws. thank you
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: