Porch lights not working but outlets are working

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-16-18, 11:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Porch lights not working but outlets are working

Hello. I have an indoor porch that has two indoor lights ,two outdoor lights and two indoor outlets. Both of the outlets are working fine, but all four lights are not working at all. What could be the problem, and how do I fix it ? Thank you for any information !
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-17-18, 02:15 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Are all lights on the same switch? If so disconnect the two wires on the switch and connect them together with a wire nut. If the lights now work replace the switch.
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-18, 08:57 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,124
Received 22 Votes on 22 Posts
Hi, did this happen all at once?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 06-30-18, 08:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi everyone. My apologies for responding late.
Yes, the lights are on the same switch, and they stopped functioning all at once. I am going to try to connect the wires with a nut, but what else could the problem be?
 
  #5  
Old 06-30-18, 10:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,251
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
How many wires at the switch ?

You need to determine how the circuit is fed. More than likely power goes to the switch first. We have to guess..... you need to check.

We need to know what you find at the switch,
 
  #6  
Old 06-30-18, 04:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey, so there are two switches that are side by side. One switch has two wires connected on each of sides, the other one (which is on the right), has one wire on its left and two wires on its right.
 
  #7  
Old 06-30-18, 05:23 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,124
Received 22 Votes on 22 Posts
Sounds like a 3 way and and @ single pole, post some pics of the switches.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 06-30-18, 11:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
One switch has two wires connected on each of sides,
Are you saying two wires on the screws and two wires on the back stabs? If so the backstabs could be your problem.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: