Electrical wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-27-18, 12:16 PM
Shawzall's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electrical wiring

Hello group, I just joined the forum. Could someone answer an electrical wiring question? I have a circuit with 4 lights controlled by 2, 3-way switches. I'd like to add another light controlled by the same switches. Can I run just a hot, neutral and ground from one of the existing lights to the new fixture or do I have to use all 3 wires to connect it?
Thanks for the help.
Steve
 
  #2  
Old 07-27-18, 12:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Can I run just a hot, neutral and ground from one of the existing lights to the new fixture or do I have to use all 3 wires to connect it?
Yes, just two conductors plus grounds is correct. (Three wires is concerned with the switch circuit only.)
 
  #3  
Old 07-27-18, 01:10 PM
Shawzall's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help Ray, that makes my life a lot easier

​​​​​​​Steve
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: