Kitchen Range hood opening is not in the center


  #1  
Old 08-19-18, 06:19 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kitchen Range hood opening is not in the center

Hi all,

I truly hope you can help me.

We bought an old house and it came with a very old and dirty kitchen range hood, which we uninstalled right away. When we did this we noticed that although the wiring seems fine, the duct to the outside (through the wall) is not in the middle of the area, but very much to the right. Therefore any new range hood we wish to buy would not fit! Is there a workaway around this or are we being somehow thick??

Thank you for any help!
 
  #2  
Old 08-19-18, 06:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,575
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The typical problem is that the hole for the duct is placed between two studs which may not line up correctly. This can be tough to work around. Can you post a picture of what you have there ?
How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #3  
Old 08-19-18, 06:46 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture of what I mean. We actually bought a kitchen range hood, then discovered the hole for the exhaust duct is in the middle only... they seem to only make these models now.
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 08-19-18, 08:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,575
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
That doesn't look like a correct size anyway. Normally it would be approx 4"H x 10"W.
Have you determined where the studs are in reference to that duct ?
Does that duct go straight out...... or ?
 
  #5  
Old 08-20-18, 03:24 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The duct in the wall connects to a straight up duct that exits through the roof, yes. I have not searched for the studs to be honest.
 
  #6  
Old 08-20-18, 04:40 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,193
Received 370 Votes on 335 Posts
Looks like a stud should fall between opening and the electrical /dial control fixture.
If it were me I would open up the wall and look see. You might be able to make a cripple box in place of the stud. (Kind of like putting in a window frame.) Is this wall a load bearing wall?
Another possible idea is making a transition from the hood to the current opening. Preferable metal but maybe a flexible material might work and still fit snugly.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: