How do i mount this sconce?


  #1  
Old 09-13-18, 08:05 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do i mount this sconce?

As you can see, the mounting plate for the sconce has pre-drilled holes which fall inside that electric box.
I have no clue how to resolve this, there are 4 of these in a circuit, so I definitely need that junction box there.

Any tips?


<img src="https://www.doityourself.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=96931&stc=1&d=1536894111" width="1278" height="719"/>
<img src="https://www.doityourself.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=96932&stc=1&d=1536894119" width="1316" height="740"/>
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 09-13-18, 09:02 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 27,362
Received 997 Votes on 908 Posts
You have the wrong type of box for a light. You need an octagon or round box, and possibly a cross bar like this. https://www.amazon.com/Westinghouse-...01270810&psc=1
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-18, 11:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,668
Received 1,613 Votes on 1,485 Posts
That's more than a mounting plate...... it's a power supply. Usually it's inside the box..... not attached to the box. It looks like it may fit in a 4" round old work box. You should be able to use one of these boxes to replace that 2x3 box. These are some of the types available at the home improvement stores.

Name:  4 box.jpg
Views: 148
Size:  29.8 KB
 
  #4  
Old 09-14-18, 03:48 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 7,522
Received 537 Votes on 497 Posts
Power supply?

Looks more like a mounting plate, how does it mount to the light?

You have an "old work" box, the screws at the corners turn tabs that hold the box in place on the back side so removing them will allow the box to be removed so that a round "old work" box can be installed to hold the plate!

Be careful, you will have to trim some drywall. Some have templates but go slow and remove small amounts you want the box to fit snug in the opening!
 
  #5  
Old 09-14-18, 05:56 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That plate is the back cover for the sconce. It needs to go flush with the wall. I'm considering doing away with the junction box and make all the splices inside the sconce.... though it would be a very tight fit if its even possible.

I do have a cross bar, but it doesn't fit.
 
  #6  
Old 09-14-18, 06:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,668
Received 1,613 Votes on 1,485 Posts
I thought I saw different colors like from a power supply.

That most likely is a plate from a non UL listed fixture. That plate gets mounted directly to the wall and the wires are brought in with no box. It looks like the large hole might be able to take a NM wire clamp but not two cables.
 
  #7  
Old 09-15-18, 06:10 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,205
Received 370 Votes on 320 Posts
Looks like a light from IKEA. Will the light even cover the box?
 
  #8  
Old 09-17-18, 06:33 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no, from amazon
only white light one I found with dimming capability
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: