Switch requires 40w load, how to use LED bulbs?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-20-18, 10:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch requires 40w load, how to use LED bulbs?

I have several old electronic wall timers that require min. 40w loads. I would like to use LED bulbs because of their much longer life and don't care if I have 40w min. in the circuit. How do I boost the draw to 40w? A 40w inline resistor would be awkward. Any ideas? Does anyone make an adapter that would have a built in 40w resistor (bulb socket on one end, bulb male on the other. Thanks for help.
Frank
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-20-18, 10:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
The most sensible choice is to change to timers that require a neutral or use a self contained battery.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-18, 10:47 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,810
Received 194 Votes on 180 Posts
Anything that creates a 40 watt load is going to consume and waste that much power which negates the benefit of using LED's. I'm with PJmax. Replace the timers with something modern. Timers are reasonably priced and you'll be saving electricity.
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-18, 10:56 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Sorry.... I thought I left a link. In the link is an example of a series of timers marketed under the GE, Honeywell and Intermatic name. Some versions use a rechargeable battery or a replaceable battery. Some connect with two wires and require no neutral connection and some require a neutral. They are a little tricky to program the first time. They also track seasons and can change set times to match the daylight.

Wall timer - neutral required
Wall timer - no neutral required
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-18, 02:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi All,
Thanks for your posts! I neglected to mention this is an old house with a 2-wire system (no neutral) which I don't intend to change. I thought I also stated that I wanted to use LEDs for their longevity, and didn't care about the 40w additional energy consumption.
You should know that I have done a lot of research on timers. It does appear that most recent ones that allow LEDs do require a neutral.
Thanks again to you all!
Frank
 

Last edited by Frank1492; 09-20-18 at 02:32 PM. Reason: incomplete
  #6  
Old 09-20-18, 03:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
I left you a link to one that does not require neutral. It contains its own CR123 battery for operation.

The only way to make yours work is to approach the 40w threshold.
A 40 watt resister, a 40w light bulb, a 40 w load. What else can we say. You need something to burn up the 40 watts.
 
  #7  
Old 09-20-18, 05:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,502
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
How many actual (not equivalent) watts worth of LED lighting do you already have that are controlled by that switch?

You might leave an incandescent bulb in one of the fixtures for each of the switches to provide the minimum switched load of 40 watts. With several LEDs in the switched circuit, the incandescent bulb could itself be somewhat less than 40 watts.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: