3 way and light and fan control


  #1  
Old 10-24-18, 03:45 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 96
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
3 way and light and fan control

right now i have 2 fans on a 3 way switch. these are on a cathedral ceiling.

i want to keep the 3 way switch

and add on both switches control for the light and a control for the fan

i have to double check but i think the power comes in on the one swtich

would i have to run 4 wire for fan control?

or is there some sleek way to keep my existing 3 wire and making it all work?
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 10-24-18, 03:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,091
Received 3,980 Upvotes on 3,572 Posts
Unfortunately there is no easy way to do what you want now.

You would need two sets of 3 way switches..... one for the lights and one for the fans.
Not only would that require an additional three wire cable between switches..... it would require a four wire cable from the switches up to the fans..... or at least an additional two wire cable from the switches to one fan and an additional two wire cable between fans.

The only sleek way do it is to use logic wall switches that communicate to the fans via the existing wiring. That would require two wall remotes and two fan receivers.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-18, 04:31 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 96
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks i thought about the receiver maybe ill just have that control the fan speed?
i forgot to mention its 2 fans and 3 lights. i would like all the lights to turn off at once and be able to control the fan speed from a switch.

tell me the easier way its not too terible to run more 3 wire or 4 wire if needed.

maybe have a 2 gang one 3 way that controls all the lights just on/off and works with other 3 way. the other switch that controls fan on/off and speed and a regular 3 way in the other location that controls lights on/off? would that work?

i never wired fan lights with regular lights before
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-18, 04:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,091
Received 3,980 Upvotes on 3,572 Posts
Easier way ?

Without seeing how you are going to run wires...... everywhere.... I couldn't say.
You have one existing three way circuit. That could run the lights or the fan.

Then you'd need to run a piece of three wire cable between the two switch locations.
Then you'd need a two wire cable from either switch to the light or fans.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: