Replacing Bath Fan Switch with Timer Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-18, 10:08 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Bath Fan Switch with Timer Switch

Hello, I have two questions about this project:

Which neutral pigtail bundle should I tie the white wire from my new timer switch to? My outlet box has two sets of white neutral pigtails. One has two wire, one has three.

Also, please confirm; I will tie the hot black from the new switch to the black pigtail bundle. And I will tie the red load wire from the new timer switch to the black wire from cable 3 in my diagram.

Thanks for your help.
Peter
 
Attached Images       
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-30-18, 12:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
White of dimmer goes to the bundle that contains the white from the cable that supplies power to the switch.
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-18, 04:48 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Ray. So that is one of my questions... the cable that supplies power to the switch is cable 2, it has two neutrals going to two separate bundles. Maybe it doesn't matter which bundle the new switch white goes to?
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-18, 05:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
the cable that supplies power to the switch is cable 2, it has two neutrals
A cable should have only one white. Are you sure both whites are from the same cable?
 
  #5  
Old 11-30-18, 10:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,775
Received 932 Votes on 869 Posts
Your diagram is showing three cables in that box. Your picture shows five cables there.
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-18, 08:08 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ray, Pete...wow, thank you. I feel pretty stupid. Yes I can see now that there are actually 5 cables in there, cables 2/3 and 4/5 are just really close. Shows you how an inexperience eye can make a mess of something obvious to pros. I'll redo my diagram and have another think about it (I feel this should be within my grasp and dislike not understanding my house) but suspect I'll be calling someone on Monday.
Thank you again.
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-18, 08:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Please do not include the grounds in your next diagram. They make it much harder to read. We will just assume the grounds.
 
  #8  
Old 12-01-18, 10:59 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Wiring Diagram

I took another look with your help and did a new diagram.
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 12-03-18, 10:27 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have just finished the install and the switch is working perfectly. Thank you guys for your insight and generosity with your time and expertise. This site is a great resource.
Peter
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: