Lighting wiring questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-18, 07:11 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lighting wiring questions

I'm attempting to install 3 LED lights and have a question that I have yet to see any answers in googling.

2 of my former "housings" have 2 each black, red, white and ground wires the 3rd has one each black, red, white and ground.

The connector to the LED has two slots for black white and ground. I am stuck!

The red and black wires are connected to the light switch.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-30-18, 07:16 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,952
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The red is typically the switch-leg, which you'd connect to the black on the light fixtures. The blacks would get tied together as a pass through. The additional slots are for daisy chaining multiple lights together. You dont have to use all of them or any of them. I usually cut them off, strip the wires, and use wire nuts. Not sure why one of your outlet boxes would have a single cable with four wires. The black would not be used and get capped.
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-18, 08:12 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,438
Received 210 Votes on 186 Posts
Only two of those wires would be connected to the actual light. Use the same two wires for your new LED lights.
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-18, 09:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,678
Received 913 Votes on 853 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You are describing the first fixture as being connect with a three wire cable in and three wire cable out.
The second fixture with a three wire cable in and a three wire cable out.
The third fixture with a three wire cable in.
Three wire cable was either used because that's all the installer had or there could be two switches feeding those lights. Red and white would be on one switch and black and white on a second switch.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-18, 08:34 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Tu5...ew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/15zD...ew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/14mn...ew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PIi...ew?usp=sharing

Thank you for the info, all. The connector on the lights with the two receiving slots, I'm assuming I put both of the red and white wires into the slots?
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-18, 08:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,678
Received 913 Votes on 853 Posts
We can tell you definitely that all the white wires connect to the white connection.
Only the red or black will be used to go to the black light wire.

Your power enters one of the cans with two cables. You'll need to check from either red or either black to ground to find which color was used as switched power. The unused color should be capped off with small wirenuts.
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-18, 10:37 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm assuming I will have to connect all of the lights and not be able to test one to make sure it works.

Thank you again
 
  #8  
Old 12-01-18, 11:23 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,678
Received 913 Votes on 853 Posts
Once you find the location where power is...... install that one first and make sure none of the wires in the second and third locations are touching...... then power the circuit to check the first one.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: