Help wiring a Leviton IPS02 motion sensor switch


  #1  
Old 12-01-18, 05:29 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help wiring a Leviton IPS02 motion sensor switch

Hello, new to here, hope to get some help.
I take away the old switch and try to install a motion sensor switch.
But once I switch on the power, the sensor on the switch is blinking, but the light won’t turn on, even I press the button.
Here is the wire, please help and let me know which wire should go to which screw on the switch.

Name:  IMG_7688.jpg
Views: 977
Size:  92.4 KB

Name:  IMG_7687.jpg
Views: 590
Size:  88.8 KB

Name:  IMG_7686.jpg
Views: 677
Size:  50.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-01-18 at 07:49 PM. Reason: labeled picture
  #2  
Old 12-01-18, 07:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,983 Upvotes on 3,575 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I labeled your picture. Line to black..... load to red.
The sensor must be grounded to work properly. Check the box for grounding.

Installation instructions
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-01-18 at 08:19 PM.
  #3  
Old 12-01-18, 10:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So the neutral just stay the same?
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-18, 10:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,983 Upvotes on 3,575 Posts
Yes. That sensor doesn't require a neutral.
If you don't have ground in/at that box..... you'll need to get a sensor that does use the neutral.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-18, 10:32 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
As you see the 1st photo, is that 2ground wire hook up to the screw?
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-18, 10:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,983 Upvotes on 3,575 Posts
It's hard to see IN the box. It looks there is a ground wire. It still needs to be tested.
The two white wire splice is not ground.

That sensor has to be grounded to work correctly.
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-18, 10:56 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Let me try to take another photo tomorrow, thank you
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: