Help wiring a Leviton IPS02 motion sensor switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-18, 05:29 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help wiring a Leviton IPS02 motion sensor switch

Hello, new to here, hope to get some help.
I take away the old switch and try to install a motion sensor switch.
But once I switch on the power, the sensor on the switch is blinking, but the light won’t turn on, even I press the button.
Here is the wire, please help and let me know which wire should go to which screw on the switch.

Name:  IMG_7688.jpg
Views: 351
Size:  92.4 KB

Name:  IMG_7687.jpg
Views: 248
Size:  88.8 KB

Name:  IMG_7686.jpg
Views: 183
Size:  50.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-01-18 at 07:49 PM. Reason: labeled picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-01-18, 07:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,723
Received 923 Votes on 862 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I labeled your picture. Line to black..... load to red.
The sensor must be grounded to work properly. Check the box for grounding.

Installation instructions
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-01-18 at 08:19 PM.
  #3  
Old 12-01-18, 10:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So the neutral just stay the same?
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-18, 10:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,723
Received 923 Votes on 862 Posts
Yes. That sensor doesn't require a neutral.
If you don't have ground in/at that box..... you'll need to get a sensor that does use the neutral.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-18, 10:32 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As you see the 1st photo, is that 2ground wire hook up to the screw?
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-18, 10:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,723
Received 923 Votes on 862 Posts
It's hard to see IN the box. It looks there is a ground wire. It still needs to be tested.
The two white wire splice is not ground.

That sensor has to be grounded to work correctly.
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-18, 10:56 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let me try to take another photo tomorrow, thank you
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: