Breakers dont make sense...

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-18, 02:36 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breakers dont make sense...

To start with my home is about 55years old and had little updates. I'm having trouble understanding my breaker box which I'm usually pretty good at.

1st issue: all power outlets in second bedroom stopped working. (Note, the room is the farthest point from breaker box)

2nd issue: I go check the breakers in the garage, so naturally I turn the light on and open breaker box. There I find breakers that look like single pole but have switches on both ends (not really familiar with).

3rd issue: what I cant figure out is after I found the tripped breaker, I reset it. That's when the breaker above it tripped so I reset it. Only one or the other will stay on leaving only the plugs in second room not working. If both are off, light in garage goes out (opposite sides of the house)

how does this happen???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-18, 02:47 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,446
Received 212 Votes on 188 Posts
Did you make any changes recently? Change any receptacles?

Somewhere somehow you have cross connected two hot wires.
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-18, 07:05 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No I haven't changed anything and now the original breaker is still off and everything has power
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-18, 07:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,774
Received 932 Votes on 869 Posts
Single pole breakers with switches at both ends sound like tandem or twin breakers.
Maybe post a picture for us....... How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #5  
Old 12-11-18, 07:44 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The breaker second up from bottom right is off, the one directly above it is the other one mentioned in first post.

Name:  20181211_212142.jpg
Views: 94
Size:  70.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-11-18 at 08:07 PM. Reason: cropped/reoriented pic
  #6  
Old 12-11-18, 08:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,774
Received 932 Votes on 869 Posts
Square D QO-1515 older style twin or tandem breakers. Two circuits in one breaker space.
Sometimes called piggyback breakers.

In some location..... you have two circuits..... 16L and 18L in the same box and they somehow got connected together. This usually happens when someone that doesn't know how the circuit was wired..... changes the wiring in the box. Finding that point now is going to take some detective work. Basically every box on those two circuits will need to be opened and checked.

A very typical place this problem happens is where there was a split receptacle. That means the bridge was broken on the brass side. This is done in areas like the laundry where you have one duplex receptacle supplied by two circuits. Then the receptacle was changed and the bridge was left in place. The kitchen is another place this happens although usually the kitchen is on 20A circuits.
 
  #7  
Old 12-11-18, 08:54 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,446
Received 212 Votes on 188 Posts
Somewhere the two hots from those breakers have made contact with each other.
If you know what stuff is supposed to be on each circuit you should be able to determine which box likely has both circuits in it and start looking there.
 
  #8  
Old 12-11-18, 11:10 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks fellas, I really appreciate your time explaining that, I feel much better about being able to track down the issue now.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: