Is this a 4 way switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-17-18, 11:39 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 937
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this a 4 way switch?

My light fixtures in the kitchen can be controlled from 4 locations. Is this a 4-way switch? I'm looking into purchasing a smart switch that will allow me to control the kitchen lights. I'm only going to replace just one switch with a smart switch and must work with the other three existing dumb switch.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-17-18, 11:56 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,774
Received 932 Votes on 869 Posts
A light controlled from four locations is on a four way circuit. There is always a three way switch at each end and there can be an infinite amount of four way switches in between the three way switches.
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-18, 12:31 PM
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 133
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Read carefully, Maybe even ask the manufacturer if the switch will work that way. Multi-way switching gets complicated !
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-18, 01:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,774
Received 932 Votes on 869 Posts
I should have added a clarification...... smart switches and dimmers will only work from a three way location and even then as I've said before..... they aren't necessarily a plug and play device.... wiring may have to be changed at both three way locations.
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-18, 05:56 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,446
Received 212 Votes on 188 Posts
A required neutral may also NOT be present.
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-18, 05:32 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 937
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the explanation. So even if there are more than 4 locations it's still consider 4 way switch, correct? Or is there a switch specifically designed for multi-way?
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-18, 05:45 AM
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 133
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Here's how they can be wired
 
  #8  
Old 12-18-18, 06:35 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 937
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, is a three location switches consider 4-way switch since two locations is consider 3-way?
 
  #9  
Old 12-18-18, 06:56 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Three or more is a 4-way circuit.
 
  #10  
Old 12-18-18, 07:25 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 937
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ray2047, thanks! That's where I got confused.
 
  #11  
Old 12-20-18, 08:52 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 937
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So based on this Zooz KB, looks like the Zooz ZEN21 may work in my 4-way switch (3 and 4 points of contact). That means I have to make sure the line (power supply line perhaps from another switch) and my load (wire that goes to the light fixture) are in the same box, right?
 
  #12  
Old 12-20-18, 04:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,774
Received 932 Votes on 869 Posts
Zooz KB......
Zooz can only be wired in a 4-way if you have load and line in the same box.

Zooz Zen21....
Works in a 3-way configuration with your REGULAR on/off switch, no need for an auxiliary expensive add-on switch.... but requires a neutral.

Read this ZOOZ disclaimer carefully (link)

I think you may be getting in over your head on this one.
1) line and load must be at the same location
2) requires neutrral
3) rewiring is necessary at all boxes.
 
  #13  
Old 12-20-18, 04:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
power supply line perhaps from another switch
No, must be power supply for light being switched.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: