15a max lamp on a 20a circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-22-18, 01:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
15a max lamp on a 20a circuit

hello- the thread title pretty much says it all. Installing 2 lamp fixtures on a 20 amp circuit when I noticed the lamp says 15 amp max. These 2 lamps are the only thing on the circuit. If I continue to install them am I creating an unsafe situation? Do I have any options that let me use the lamps?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-22-18, 01:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,442
Received 215 Votes on 204 Posts
I've never seen a lamp that has a maximum amperage rating on it. Can you post a link to it for us ?
If no link.... maybe a picture.... How-to-insert-pictures

Typically it's understood that no lamp could be connected to a circuit larger than 20A.
 
  #3  
Old 12-22-18, 01:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok I think I attached it correctly

Now that I look at it I wonder if the amp limit refers to the outlet on it?
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 12-22-18, 01:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA or elsewhere
Posts: 29
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MAX rating

Yes, I believe that label is for the outlet so that you do not try to light all the Christmas decorations on that single outlet.

The outlet contacts and internal wiring likely can not handle heavy current.

Cheers!
 
  #5  
Old 12-22-18, 02:01 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,384
Received 141 Votes on 134 Posts
Yes, that is the capacity of the outlet not the circuit feeding the fixture.
 
  #6  
Old 12-22-18, 07:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help everybody
 
  #7  
Old 12-23-18, 12:25 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,911
Received 17 Votes on 12 Posts
Where are these fixtures located? If in bathrooms the outlet must either be GFCI protected or disconnected from power.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes