Wiring a lamp plug to a wall switch


  #1  
Old 12-22-18, 09:10 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring a lamp plug to a wall switch

Howdy everyone. I'm at my wits end with what I thought would be a very easy task. I built a lamp fixture that has two lights on it. I have the black wires wire nutted together and both of the white ones together, as well under a junction box. I have a section of lamp cord coming from that junction box (I split the lamp cord, one side to the black wires and one to the white wires) that are going to a single pole light switch box that are going to be wire nutted to another section of lamp cord that will be plugged into the wall. I just want to keep the thing plugged in and flip the lights on and off when I want.
. Problem is, I ve done every combo possible (I think) when wiring everything up, but I keep blowing the breaker. I know the lamp fixtures are not faulty, due to having the lamp cord directly plugged in the wall at the moment. One of the wiring combinations I've tried had the light come on, but blew the breaker once I flipped the switch. I also tried the aforementioned wiring combos with another never been used switch, thinking that the first switch may have been faulty. I've searched and searched, but only have come up with thumb roll on/ off switch install videos/ articles. Any of you folks able to lend me some wisdom on how to do this? Thank you. Jeff.
. Also, not the most literate on a computer. I took pictures, but can figure out how to attach them.
 
  #2  
Old 12-22-18, 10:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,941
Received 4,144 Upvotes on 3,722 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes..... pictures would be very helpful to give you exact directions........ How-to-insert-pictures

Normally..... the two whites wires from each socket would get connected to the white wire coming from the power cord. Then capped off. The two black wires from the sockets get connected together. Then those two black wires get switched to the black wire of the power cord.

The white or neutral wires should not be involved with the switch. There should be no reason to be blowing a breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 12-23-18, 05:54 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,077
Received 529 Upvotes on 433 Posts
If I understand correctly the problem is only when you install the switch.
You gave no description of how you are wiring the switch. It should be as follows.
The neutral wire from the plug gets wire direct to the neutral wire to the lamps. No connection to the switch.
The hot wire gets cut and one end wired to each screw of the switch. Do not use the green ground screw for this. Use the two screws on the side of the switch.
 
  #4  
Old 12-23-18, 08:47 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you, gents!

Both of you fellas are my hero for the day! I appreciate the info yous have given me. I now have my light mounted with the switch on the back of my mount. I'm still trying to figure out how to post pictures on here. I can't find the "Go advanced" section. If I can find it, I'll post the pictures of what I did. Thanks! Jeff.
 
  #5  
Old 12-23-18, 09:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Not all phones show Go Advanced but image posting from computer usually works however it seems to be down right now.

Your switch connection should look like this:

 
  #6  
Old 12-23-18, 09:03 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ray. That explains things perfectly. I'm on my old Galaxy 4 phone.
 
  #7  
Old 12-23-18, 09:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Did you see the diagram I added to my post?
 
  #8  
Old 12-24-18, 06:33 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
[QUOTE][/QUOTEray2047 , Yesterday 08:12 PM
Did you see the diagram I added to my post?]

. Yes sir, just saw it now. It's a very simple diagram. Just what I needed since I usually tend to look too deep into and complicate many of the most simplest of things. (Lol!) Thanks again.
 
  #9  
Old 12-24-18, 08:17 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Once you get it working be sure the ribbed* wire of you lamp cord is connected to the neutral wire if you have a polarized plug and the silver screw of the lamp holders are connected to neutral. Not that it won't work either way, it will. It is just a safety issue.

*Sometimes instead of a rib there are printed letters.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: