No red wire on motion sensor


  #1  
Old 01-18-19, 01:54 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No red wire on motion sensor

If my new motion activated light has only white, black and ground, is there still a way to add another light inline? I want to let this sensor trigger a light further along but I can't figure out how to wire in the next light and not have it always on. The motion sensor (utilitech from lowes) has no red wire for what (I think) would be the switch.
 
  #2  
Old 01-18-19, 03:02 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,046
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
You can not add anything to the switch. It does not have a neutral.
You can add more from the existing light junction box.
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-19, 04:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,136
Received 3,996 Upvotes on 3,586 Posts
Welcome to the forums........... started new thread.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: