Need help with ballast bypass. From fluorescent to LED.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-28-19, 03:55 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help with ballast bypass. From fluorescent to LED.

I have an issue setting up LED lights in my light fixture which I remove the ballast out of and remove the wiring from one side, and connected two non-shanted holders on one side. One holder was 4 wire going in and 2 coming out and the other one have just 2 wires going out into the other holder. But from my ceiling I have 2 black, 2 white, and 2 ground white. I've tried so many diffrent configurations but nothing is working.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-28-19, 04:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,089
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

LED tubes can be set up in one of two ways. The 120v is applied to the pins at one end or the 120v needs to be attached at both ends. We need to know which tubes you have there.
 
  #3  
Old 01-28-19, 04:13 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tube Type

I have the single side power tubes.
 
  #4  
Old 01-28-19, 04:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
...................................................................
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 01-28-19, 04:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,089
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Ok..... so then you just need two wires on the socket. You'd need to make sure they aren't shorted together internally.

Good pic Ray.

The two sets of wires coming in..... is it or was it white connected to white and black connected to black ? If it was..... keep them connected together and white goes to one pin and black goes to the other.

On the other hand.... possibly only one cable is power and one is a switch loop.This would need to be confirmed with a meter. You'd need to find the live pair and see if they stay live or go off with the switch.
 
  #6  
Old 01-28-19, 06:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
......................................................................
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 01-28-19, 06:54 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Circuit Setup

This is what I am working with here, I tried wiring it up the way it showed in the diagram and nothing is working for me. One thing I failed to mention is that I'm using a smaller gauge wire for the blue and red wires, will that prevent the circuit from working?

Name:  a1.jpg
Views: 155
Size:  33.6 KB

Name:  a2.jpg
Views: 366
Size:  18.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-28-19 at 07:55 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #8  
Old 01-28-19, 07:44 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,387
Received 202 Votes on 178 Posts
Connect the blue to the blacks and the red to the whites.
 
  #9  
Old 01-28-19, 07:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,089
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
If what joed mentioned doesn't work then.....
1) there is no power there.
2) those are not end fed tubes.
3) the tubes are no good.
 
  #10  
Old 01-29-19, 03:58 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8,552
Received 174 Votes on 158 Posts
Ray,

Just a shout out. Thanks for those diagrams. I'll be using those to help advise those customers who insist on using old fixture for LED's.
 
  #11  
Old 01-30-19, 11:45 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah those diagrams are really helpful and I made the circuit but it didn't work, do I have to have the side that isn't wired shunted?
 
  #12  
Old 01-30-19, 05:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,089
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
I made the circuit but it didn't work
Huh....

This isn't rocket science. Those sockets in your picture wired with the red and blue wires are not the shunted type. Those sockets with 120v on them should be working fine.

Do you have a meter ? Confirm 120vAC on the lamp sockets.
If you have the 120v there..... the tubes are the problem.
If the power is not on the socket pins..... it should be pretty obvious where the problem is.
 
  #13  
Old 01-30-19, 08:05 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,387
Received 202 Votes on 178 Posts
Can you post a link to the LEDs you trying to install.
 
  #14  
Old 02-02-19, 05:17 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wow wow wow, I knew I was right the whole time with the circuit, I just didn't have the right bulbs, the guy at the store told me for sure they were bypass ones, but they weren't single side power. I got the right ones and it's all working fine now.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: