Replace regular switch with smart one

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-19, 06:50 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replace regular switch with smart one

I'm not an electrician but now some basics. I three switches one 3 way for ceiling lights, one for fan lights and one for fan. The first simple draw showing my current wiring, the second picture showing my smart switch and it was N L L3 L2 L1,can one explain how I can connect them?
Thanks in advance!

Horrible Draw

Smart switch
Name:  ss.jpg
Views: 70
Size:  173.4 KB



Mike
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-04-19 at 12:12 PM. Reason: added pic from link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-19, 08:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,212
Received 851 Votes on 797 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Sorry. You drawing is incomplete. Can't offer help without the complete diagram or a picture or two.
How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-19, 05:57 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,392
Received 203 Votes on 179 Posts
Where is the other wire coming from the both left cables. Is the cable to the fan a three wire cable? There a wire missing there also.
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-19, 06:55 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The only cables I have missed are the ground, each switch as ground to one twisted cables covered by green cap.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-19, 08:37 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,392
Received 203 Votes on 179 Posts
I have never seen a cable with only a back wire. Is this a conduit system?
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-19, 09:02 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have attached a best drawing picture, and I don't now. house build 2009.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 02-04-19, 09:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,212
Received 851 Votes on 797 Posts
Look into the box where the wires are coming out.
Do you see any jacket from a cable or just round pipe openings ?

It looks like you have a conduit system. Very rare for a house based on your location.
Is this a dorm ?
If it is a conduit system...... there is no neutral there for your smart switch. Based on which conduit supplies the light you want to control..... you may be able to pull a white/neutral wire in.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-19, 11:44 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It not dorm, it is a single family house. yes there is pipe that wires goes in. is this a good thing or bad?

I will look how many conduit there and update the light.

I did below to smart switch and get the fan and fan lights works, but the ceiling lights not.
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 02-04-19, 12:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,212
Received 851 Votes on 797 Posts
I looked at your connections on the smart switch. I can't quite tell what you are using as a neutral wire. It appears to be black in the picture. You need to pull a white wire into that switch box from the light that you want to put the switch on.
 
  #10  
Old 02-04-19, 12:36 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
they are all black that connected to the switches, maybe they didn't use the code here, but if you see the picture there is red circle that a twist with white cables to goes to the pipes. I will check when back to home this evening
 
  #11  
Old 02-06-19, 11:45 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got neutral wire to the smart switch and every thing working now except it is not 3 way any more as I don't need it. Many thanks
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: