Replace regular switch with smart one


  #1  
Old 02-03-19, 06:50 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replace regular switch with smart one

I'm not an electrician but now some basics. I three switches one 3 way for ceiling lights, one for fan lights and one for fan. The first simple draw showing my current wiring, the second picture showing my smart switch and it was N L L3 L2 L1,can one explain how I can connect them?
Thanks in advance!

Horrible Draw

Smart switch
Name:  ss.jpg
Views: 152
Size:  173.4 KB



Mike
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-04-19 at 12:12 PM. Reason: added pic from link
  #2  
Old 02-03-19, 08:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Sorry. You drawing is incomplete. Can't offer help without the complete diagram or a picture or two.
How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-19, 05:57 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,042
Received 516 Upvotes on 421 Posts
Where is the other wire coming from the both left cables. Is the cable to the fan a three wire cable? There a wire missing there also.
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-19, 06:55 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The only cables I have missed are the ground, each switch as ground to one twisted cables covered by green cap.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-19, 08:37 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,042
Received 516 Upvotes on 421 Posts
I have never seen a cable with only a back wire. Is this a conduit system?
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-19, 09:02 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have attached a best drawing picture, and I don't now. house build 2009.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 02-04-19, 09:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Look into the box where the wires are coming out.
Do you see any jacket from a cable or just round pipe openings ?

It looks like you have a conduit system. Very rare for a house based on your location.
Is this a dorm ?
If it is a conduit system...... there is no neutral there for your smart switch. Based on which conduit supplies the light you want to control..... you may be able to pull a white/neutral wire in.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-19, 11:44 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It not dorm, it is a single family house. yes there is pipe that wires goes in. is this a good thing or bad?

I will look how many conduit there and update the light.

I did below to smart switch and get the fan and fan lights works, but the ceiling lights not.
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 02-04-19, 12:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
I looked at your connections on the smart switch. I can't quite tell what you are using as a neutral wire. It appears to be black in the picture. You need to pull a white wire into that switch box from the light that you want to put the switch on.
 
  #10  
Old 02-04-19, 12:36 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
they are all black that connected to the switches, maybe they didn't use the code here, but if you see the picture there is red circle that a twist with white cables to goes to the pipes. I will check when back to home this evening
 
  #11  
Old 02-06-19, 11:45 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I got neutral wire to the smart switch and every thing working now except it is not 3 way any more as I don't need it. Many thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: