Rail mounted Dimmer?


  #1  
Old 02-10-19, 02:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Rail mounted Dimmer?

I have the following setup in a corridor.

In 3 different locations there is a push switch (it always stays in the same positing) that activates a relay in the fuse box. The relay is rail mounted. This relay in turn, turns on the lights in the corridor.

There are several LED spots (GU10) in the light fixing, that are dimmable.

I like to find a way of dimming the spots by putting a Dimmer behind the relay. Ideally this relay is also rail mounted.

Any suggestions if such a relay exist, and what it is called? I could find nothing so far. And maybe other tips, ideas or insights as to how to do this?

 
  #2  
Old 02-10-19, 06:09 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,398
Received 893 Upvotes on 754 Posts
Lutron makes remote controlled relays that can be used for dimming and control. PowPak Relay Module Models I am not sure if they will work with low voltage switching but the existing switching could be replaced and the existing relay bypassed. Also look at x10 stuff. They have many products with home automation.
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-19, 08:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,451
Received 4,051 Upvotes on 3,634 Posts
The control relay is on a rail. The dimmer doesn't have to be.
The problem is how do you plan to remotely change the dimmer ?
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-19, 09:03 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi Folks, thanks for answering.

I do not want a remote controlled unit. It can sit on the rail and once the right level of dimming is reached it will stay like that. Maybe once a week the cleaners will turn it up but after that back to the old setting.
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-19, 09:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,451
Received 4,051 Upvotes on 3,634 Posts
I'd say mount a surface mount electrical box next to the relay bank and then install a dimmer between the relay and the lights.
 
  #6  
Old 02-10-19, 09:11 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
The easiest solution I can come with is cut in a junction box where the 120V exits the control panel and install a dimmer in that box. Don't try to install the dimmer in the control panel.
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-19, 01:37 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
...install a dimmer in that box
I thought about that and it is not such a clean solution, but an option. Still hoping...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: