Replacing under cabinet light with recessed lighting.


  #1  
Old 03-06-19, 10:56 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replacing under cabinet light with recessed lighting.

I removed some cabinets with built-in lighting and I want to install one recessed light in the ceiling where the cabinets were. This light was the only thing on the circuit. My question is do I need a junction box in the attic if my Romex (from the light switch to the recessed fixture) is long enough to make it to the recessed lights built in junction box?
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-19, 11:56 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,793
Received 2,187 Upvotes on 1,957 Posts
As long as the wire can go unbroken from the switch to the box for the light you are good. There can be no hidden splices or junction boxes along the way however.
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-19, 12:08 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply Dane. Do I need to staple the Romex to a stud within 12 in from built in junction box?
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-19, 12:41 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,045
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
You only need to staple if the wall is open. If you are fishing the cable down a finished wall no staples are required. A box clamp is still needed.
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-19, 01:24 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply joed. Does access to the attic change your answer?
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-19, 01:51 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,045
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
The cables in the attic where you have access need to be fastened. Cables fished down the wall where you have no access do not.
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-19, 03:35 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,344
Received 881 Upvotes on 744 Posts
If the ceiling is drywalled and/or insulated it would be considered finished, and therefore you would not have to staple the cables. The cable would be considered fished at that point, even if there is access to the attic.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: