Incorrect Wiring


  #1  
Old 03-20-19, 04:14 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Incorrect Wiring

Hey Everyone,

I just got a new GE smart switch that I installed. (seen on right of the picture)

After getting everything wired up, I went to check the voltage and found the following:
When I check the current on the the screw from the breaker everything is fine, but when I check the current on the one to the light, everything when up in sparks and breaker box killed the lights (a good thing)

Any thoughts on what I did wrong?

Thanks!

Name:  Light Switch.jpg
Views: 171
Size:  13.1 KB
 
  #2  
Old 03-20-19, 04:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,075
Received 3,975 Upvotes on 3,568 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your probe probably shorted from the screw terminal to the switch yoke which is grounded.
What is the actual problem ? Why were you checking voltages on the other switch ?
 
  #3  
Old 03-21-19, 03:17 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the prompt response!

I was told that it was best practice to recheck the voltage after I get everything hooked back up to make sure I didn't accidentally knock anything around.

I'm guessing that is not true.
 
  #4  
Old 03-21-19, 08:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,075
Received 3,975 Upvotes on 3,568 Posts
Really no need to check the voltage. Just turn the switch on. Either the light works..... or it doesn't.
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-19, 08:09 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sounds good! Thanks PJmax!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: