Electrical grounding

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-02-19, 07:40 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electrical grounding

Just moved into a new home, which is new construction. There is a electrical conduit running underground to the garage. I attempted to install a Lutron Maestro Motion Sensor switch, 2A, No Neutral Required, Single-Pole, MS-OPS2-WH, White.

When I opened the metal junction box, there was no ground wire. I have a few questions:

- Arent new electrical wiring all supposed to have a ground wire pull?
- Since it enters through the ground, does this count as grounding if the switch ground is attached to the metal junction box (its a full metal conduit back to the point of origin at the ground)

Really appreciate any insight.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-02-19, 07:43 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,609
Received 262 Votes on 229 Posts
The ground/earth does not count as a ground. However if the conduit is metal all the way back to the house, that could count as the ground.
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-19, 07:48 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks @joed ... Just also found this article stating the same

https://www.thespruce.com/electrical...unding-1821523
For a metal raceway to serve as a ground, all parts of the raceway must be electrically connected, with no interruptions. If a remodeler unwittingly installs a plastic box in the raceway, or if any connection comes loose, the ground path will be broken, leaving the circuit ungrounded.
For my clarity, how does running all the way back to the house ground it? I mean, at what point does it become 'grounded'?
 
  #4  
Old 04-02-19, 09:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,679
Received 1,173 Votes on 1,088 Posts
It must be either connected directly to the panel or connected to a metal junction box and then to NMb type cable.
 
  #5  
Old 04-03-19, 07:07 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,154
Received 86 Votes on 80 Posts
For my clarity, how does running all the way back to the house ground it? I mean, at what point does it become 'grounded'?
The official electrical ground for the house is the end of the service neutral that has entered the panel with the first whole house disconnect switch or breaker. It earns the adjective "grounded" because it is connected to ground rods at various utility poles and also ground rods at the house.

Or to say it more quickly the electrical ground is the main panel neutral bus bar, and that is "where/how" "things" get "grounded".

Plumbing may not count as any part of the needed metallic path to get from the object needing to be grounded over to the house electrical ground.

Now, if the metallic path being constructed should first reach a fat ground wire (grounding electrode conductor) emerging from the said main panel for a ground rod or water pipe exiting undeground, it may end and be attached there to accomplish grounding. (Such metal component may still need to continue on to other destinations for example it is a conduit that protects current carrying conductors enclosed within..

Branch circuit conduits and equipment grounding conductors are customarily landed at the panel with the breaker for the respective branch circuit but proper grounding depends on the panel, if not the main panel, properly grounded by appropriate bonding or equipment grounding conductors to the main panel.
 

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-03-19 at 07:41 AM.
  #6  
Old 04-03-19, 11:05 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,403
Received 128 Votes on 119 Posts
its a full metal conduit back to the point of origin at the ground
Your ground is actually via that metal conduit. Using metal boxes, metal conduit, and acceptable fittings, the ground is continuous back to your main panel. So simply using a ground screw to the metal box or a self-grounding receptacle, you're all set!
 
  #7  
Old 04-08-19, 06:13 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey guys - thanks for all the input. So this is what was going on

A - yep, Chicago conduit all the way back, so I can ground screw into the back
B - Appears it was a Switch-Loop run, but they only used the black and white. Never had seen that configuration before (new to all this DIY electrical stuff), and got even more confused when hot was supposed to connect to white.

Undid it all this weekend, with the better understanding cleaned it up a little, got rid of a stupid extra pigtail in there, and now its looking good, and Im less concerned I just attached random wires to things

THANKS
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: