testing voltage at breaker panel

Old 04-10-19, 02:44 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
testing voltage at breaker panel

Good day all.

I have recently retired from Europe (where I (re)wired some houses) to a "developing" nation which uses 220V and "American inspired" wiring (apart from the voltage). I was pretty good at at physics at school 50 years ago. I have no professional experience in electrical wiring anywhere.I was complimented on the quality of my work by government inspectors where local regulations required inspection.

I have a problem with the (single) wiring circuit in my new condominium. Since two professional electricians did some work during a fairly large renovation a number of lights no longer work and I can't get anybody else to trouble shoot.

I should add that the notion of colour coded cables does not seem to apply here. Many lights and sockets are wired with a single colour of wire so it is very hard to distinguish live from neutral. There is no earth/ground circuit in the condo. As I use UPS to protect my computers and TV I asked the electrician to set up earth connections to the metal socket boxes, and to the condo rebar where this was exposed.

So I have decided to attempt to fix the problem myself.

I use a fluke t90 voltmeter for testing.

My problem is I have a number of obscure voltages on my lighting circuit. 120V, 50V, 12V..... Some lights work. Some don't. My suspicion is that the electrician has wired the neutral of a different circuit to the wiring circuit by mistake.

A further difficulty I have is I am used to working with +220 and 0. However some people here who seem to know what they are talking about insist the local utility supplies +110/-110. Note however nobody uses 110V appliances here, everything is wired across the pins to get 220.