Help with 3 way switch or wiring!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-19, 06:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with 3 way switch or wiring!!

ok guys Iím at my wits end here. In the attic I have a junction box with 4 wires going into it. The reds with the reds, black with black, etc. Now, in the living room I have 4 wires coming out of a junction box, black red white and ground, the red and black are hot. 120v on each. I try to connect a 3 way switch and it flips the breaker. Black wire to the black nut and red wire to the one above that one and the white wire on the opposite side of the black nut. On the opposite wall there is already a 3 way switch and thatís how itís wired. Now if I completely remove the switch in question then the light works correctly because of the other 3 way switch but if I flick that other switch off then it flips the breaker. Can anyone tell me whatís going on? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-19, 07:18 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,973
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
When you say you have 4 wires going to the junction box, do you mean separate wires or cables? (A cable is an assembly of wires in an overall jacket.) Are you sure the white wires are part of the 3-way system and not a neutral? That would explain why the breaker is tripping.

The best thing to do is to take pictures (or draw diagrams) of each box you are working with and post them so we can see what you see.
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-19, 07:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wires

yes I meant 4 cables. 3 of the cables have the extra red wire in them. One cable only has the 3 wires, black white ground. And the white wires are neutral
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-19, 07:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,879
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
Do you know where each cable goes? tell us?
Where is the light connected in this setup?
Where is the power feed?
Tell us about all the wires in the switch boxes.
 
  #5  
Old 05-05-19, 08:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch

so I disconnected the white wires from both switches and now the switches donít do anything. And the breaker doesnít go off anymore. I have a remote that controls the fan and light so I can turn them off and on that way. The light fan and the light have power going to them but not through the switch apparently... man Iím confused right now. But the wires going to the switch, the red n black are hot.
 
  #6  
Old 05-05-19, 09:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grounds

the ground wires are all connected to themselves with a wire nut in the jboxes, maybe the switch needs a ground wire going to it as well?
 
  #7  
Old 05-05-19, 09:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Figure out

guys I think Iíve figured it out. Thanks a lot for all yalls help.
 
  #8  
Old 05-05-19, 11:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,879
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
A switch never needs a ground wire to function.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: