Patio ceiling fan electrical tie in help


  #1  
Old 05-06-19, 12:46 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 701
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Patio ceiling fan electrical tie in help

Hi,

I am planning to install a new ceiling fan properly. As a first step I will install a retrofit box near the existing bracket. From there I can run flex conduit above the ceiling to the wall (where grey trim starts above door. However, I don't know know what to do from there. I don't want to drill thought the header above the door. Don't have access behind regardless and trying to avoid compromising headers.

So, another idea I had is to "convert" to an outdoor cable and run it above the door to the wall scone and tie in there. Not sure if this is possible and remotely code complaint?

What else can be done in this situation?

Name:  pa1.jpg
Views: 99
Size:  43.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-15-19 at 06:01 PM. Reason: resized picture
  #2  
Old 05-06-19, 12:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,590
Received 3,880 Upvotes on 3,477 Posts
Drilling thru a header wouldn't compromise it. It would be hard to even drill the header in that location and since there is a light there.... there may be a wire in that area.

It's hard to get a feel for that ceiling. Does that have a roof on top of it ?
By the light where it's gray..... is that vinyl siding ?
If you connect to the light then it will need to be on for the fan to work.... correct ?
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-19, 01:01 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 701
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
there is a room above the ceiling. Expecting to see insulation above. There are trusses spaced 24" going towards the house. Blue sticker indicates one.
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-19, 02:26 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 109
Upvotes: 0
Received 17 Upvotes on 16 Posts
If you don't already have one, a relatively cheap digital inspection camera such as the $75 dollar one from Harbor Freight could be helpful to verify what the options are above. Only relatively small holes are needed for the probe and you could place one or more of such holes between the trusses or wherever you wish to get the viewpoint you want. Any small holes made would be very easy to patch.

Running conduit to the sconce light would meet code just about anywhere, and if PVC or EMT conduit isn't adequate then rigid metallic conduit certainly will be.
Like Pete mentioned the light most likely would need to be turned ON to get power from there. If that's the case there are probably smart/wireless switch options that could be used to get around this so you can keep the power on at the box under the light. The sconce light could be mounted on an outdoor type box or box extension to get a side access hole for conduit.
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-19, 06:49 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 701
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thanks. Could I use up-b cable from the ceiling (near wall) to run to wall scone?

Also, I was thinking to pull second hot into conduit to wall scone to help with fan power. And then use fan remote
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-19, 12:46 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 701
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
It appears that some MC cable is outdoor/damp rated
Like this one?
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Southwir...2621/202819627
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-19, 01:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,590
Received 3,880 Upvotes on 3,477 Posts
I don't believe any MC carries a damp location rating.
Inside of the area over your box is not considered a wet area.

If the area is wet.... use UF-b cable.
 
  #8  
Old 05-12-19, 05:29 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 701
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I am not certain either.

The spec here states damp rated (not wet). from HD:
"Rated for use in dry locations up to 194-degrees Fahrenheit and in wet locations up to 167-degrees Fahrenheit wet"

Here is the mfg spec - does not state damp - but might hide in one of the UL listings?:
https://www.mysouthwire.com/medias/s...4088843294.pdf

My hope is that I can use one wire from ceiling fan box above ceiling, outside and then to light.
 
  #9  
Old 05-18-19, 06:59 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 701
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I think I have another option to tie into electrical.

I could wire the porch ceiling fan into a kitchen light though ceiling. Is this code compliant?
My other porch/outdoor is on a dedicated breaker. Ceiling fan woudl be on kitchen breaker.
 
  #10  
Old 05-18-19, 10:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,590
Received 3,880 Upvotes on 3,477 Posts
Connected to the kitchen light circuit would be ok.
That should be a completely different circuit from the service receptacles in the kitchen.
 
  #11  
Old 05-18-19, 12:12 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 701
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
That should be a completely different circuit from the service receptacles in the kitchen.
I am not sure about the kitchen wiring. Would this be an issue in case all on same circuit?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: