Moving switch to other side of stud / rough cost estimate?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-19, 02:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 236
Likes Received: 1
Moving switch to other side of stud / rough cost estimate?

Hi-
I have an electrician coming out next week to give us a quote on moving a switch. We would like to move it out from under the cabinet to the right somewhere so we can access it. The previous owners extended the cabinets but didn't move the light switches. I believe there are studs where I put the yellow lines.

I know this may be a difficult question to answer but does anyone have an idea of a price range to get this done in the Seattle area? They said they will quote and do it right then if we accept. I just want to get this done so I am likely to just say yes but I also dont want to be overcharged.

I guess I could try this myself but I dont have any experience pulling stuff through studs and its probably not worth the hassle.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-19, 03:07 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,221
Likes Received: 34
Between 10 and a thousand dollars. Best bet is to get three local estimates so you can compare; trying to estimate remotely like this is pretty much pointless.
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-19, 03:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 236
Likes Received: 1
Thank you. $10 would be fantastic!
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-19, 03:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,954
Likes Received: 154
One switch could possibly an easy DIY job. Three switches is going to be more involved.
The job will be basic and easy if the three gang box can remain there as a covered splice box.
If the wires all need to be re-routed.... you'll be looking at big bucks.
 
  #5  
Old 05-21-19, 03:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 236
Likes Received: 1
Thank you. We have a piece of the wood paneling so I was thinking that everything would be spliced together inside the current gang then routed to the right. Then we push the cut to size piece of wood panel in the bottom there and everything is covered up. Is that the basic job you were speaking of? thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 05-21-19, 05:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,275
Likes Received: 26
You can't cover it. It needs to remain accessible.
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-19, 03:02 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,269
Likes Received: 9
You could put your wood panel there but cut hole for box and than put a blank cover over box. I know this somewhat defeats a clean panel there but easiest and cheapest
 
  #8  
Old 05-22-19, 03:49 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6,900
Likes Received: 23
As far as price? If you feel comfortable with his quote go for it. I've learned over the years to go with the quote that I feel is fair and I can afford (all things being equal). Although I try to get multiple quotes on projects, getting the best price (not cheapest) can be futile. Somebody will always tell me they could've gotten it cheaper.
 
  #9  
Old 05-22-19, 04:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Likes Received: 6
Hi, what is above the cabinet????????
Geo
 
  #10  
Old 05-22-19, 07:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 236
Likes Received: 1
Thanks everyone. Whatís the reasoning behind having access? Is it a fire thing or so that someone always knows that itís there?
 
  #11  
Old 05-22-19, 07:59 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Mostly because if you lose electric due to a connection you can find it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes