3-way switch: two 2-wire switches and one 3-wire switch in one box

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-23-19, 12:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
3-way switch: two 2-wire switches and one 3-wire switch in one box

Name:  xLarge-3-way-switch-9.jpg.pagespeed.ic.bhEF6j6awd.jpg
Views: 27
Size:  39.9 KB

Hello,

My father had a contractor come and he ended up taking his dimmer and light switches and leaving the outlets with loose cables so I am attempting to install a dimmer and regular switch to a light. Where I plan to put the regular switch I have three cables in the first box, two 2-wire cables, one from the power source and the other leading to the light, and one 3-wire that connects to the dimmer switch. I attached an image of how I have it wired now but it still will not work. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thank You

Link from where I obtained the image, it is option #9.
https://www.easy-do-it-yourself-home...g-diagram.html
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-23-19, 01:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,529
Likes Received: 105
The diagram is correct. That leaves you with several possibilities.
1) the bulb is bad
2) there is no live power to the circuit.
3) the common terminal is labeled in the diagram. Did you correctly wire the C terminals ?

You are showing two switches. Did you get a three way capable dimmer ?
I've had problems wiring three way dimmers to regular switches.
 
  #3  
Old 05-23-19, 01:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Pete,
You were correct I had my two traveler wires backwards on the regular switch. I swapped them and the light turned on. Of course I am still doing something incorrectly, once I flipped the breaker on the light turned on, but now neither the switch nor the dimmer are able to turn it off. As far as where the dimmer is, I borrowed the diagram from online but it is in the outlet with only the single 2-wire. I verified the dimmer is 3 way compatible, it is a Lutron SCL153P.
Does it matter which outlet I put the dimmer? Does it need to be in the one with the power source?

Thank You
 
  #4  
Old 05-23-19, 02:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,529
Likes Received: 105
You would follow dimmer/line side wiring.

Name:  3w.JPG
Views: 17
Size:  26.1 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes