Please comment on my DIY electrical work

Old 05-31-19, 06:27 PM
F
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Please comment on my DIY electrical work

Both my father and grandfather were IBEW electricians. Both are now deceased, and I feel a bit of a connection with my past while working with this stuff. I'm an electrical engineer (electronics) by trade, and so am not utterly clueless in this area. Cheesy stuff aside, I've now got my first DIY job that I need to have an inspector out for. I have used the book "Wiring Simplified (45th edition)," (Hartwell et al, https://wiringsimplified.com/WS/wiring.html) for general reference. My local inspectors are inspecting straight to NEC 2017, which simplifies things.

I've done four things per below that I ask you to review. Besides the specific questions I ask, I'm also hoping for comments on likely pitfalls and errors. There's a very strong chance I'll need to undo, correct, and redo some work. I consider this wasted effort an acceptable cost (see first two sentences).
  • 1) I replaced a dining room chandelier with a ceiling fan by expanding the drywall cutout, removing the light box, and adding an old-work ceiling fan rated box, model RACO 1-Gang #936 available at Lowe's. I followed the instructions for installing the box, and was careful to leave 1/4in of Romex sheath inside the box before clamping. I needed to switch knockouts on the retrofit box during the install, and so one is open. I likely need to fill this hole, which I realized after the fact. Do I need to fill this hole? If yes, can I fill this hole without taking the fan down and removing the box? If so, how?