Wiring 3 switches with 3 different lights with power at light

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-16-19, 02:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Wiring 3 switches with 3 different lights with power at light

having some difficulty wiring a 3 gang box where the power comes in at the light. I am wiring 3 switches that power 3 different lights. If someone could do a diagram for me it would be great. I am missing something here. I have a 14/3 at the light where the power source is coming in and 14/2 at the other 2 light fixtures
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-19, 02:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Follow up

Currently, 2 of the 3 fixtures work. Iím thinking there is a problem with my neutral. Any suggestions?
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-19, 04:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,432
Upvotes Received: 50
Worst possible way to try and wire this.
If I understand correct power comes into L1 then you have cables from L1 to L2 and L3 and to the switch box.
Not counting the code required neutral you would need four wires between L1 and the switch.
1. power to the switch
2. switched power for L1
3. switched power for L2
4. switched power for L3
 
  #4  
Old 07-16-19, 08:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,426
Upvotes Received: 214
Welcome to the forums.

I have a 14/3 at the light where the power source is coming in and 14/2 at the other 2 light fixtures
That needs clarification. We understand 14-3 from the switch box to L1.
The 14-2's from L2 and L3 go to where ?
 
  #5  
Old 07-16-19, 10:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Response

so i currently have power coming in at the light in a 14-2. From there, I have power coming to my switch box via a 14-3 that powers all three switches. L1 is switched via the red on the 14-3 and the black carries the power to the switch box. I have all 3 neutral together in the switches box and all switches are powered together via a wirenut in the switch box. I am getting 120v at the end of 2 of the 3 lights and the third I am getting nothing. I double checked my power and connections, all seemed good. Is my mistake in all neutral wires being together in the switch box?
 
  #6  
Old 07-16-19, 10:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Response

Each switch powers one light. I have all three neutrals together in the switch box. I have jumpers that power each switch via one terminal and the black line that runs to each light on the other terminal.

If This doesnít make sense to everyone, I can diagram what I did and post it.
 
  #7  
Old 07-17-19, 05:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,432
Upvotes Received: 50
Please confirm this is what you have.
Power comes into L1.
14/3 cable from L1 to switch box.
14/2 cable from switch box to L2.
14/2 cable from switch box to L3.
 
  #8  
Old 07-17-19, 06:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Joed

Yes that is exactly what I have
 
  #9  
Old 07-17-19, 06:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,432
Upvotes Received: 50
At the L1
Connect the two black together.
Connect the two whites together and to the fixture white.
Connect the red to the fixture black.

In the switch box
Connect all the white together.
Connect the black from L1 to one screw on each switch using pigtails.
Connect the red from L1 to SW1.
Connect the black from L2 to SW2.
Connect the black from L3 to SW3.
 
PJmax voted this post as helpful.
  #10  
Old 07-18-19, 11:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Response

this is my current configuration. Do I need any specific type of switch for this?
 
  #11  
Old 07-19-19, 04:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,432
Upvotes Received: 50
No just regular switches. What is the problem if you wire it like this?
 
  #12  
Old 07-20-19, 08:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Response

Only 2 of the 3 lights work. I have an outside light that does not work
 
  #13  
Old 07-20-19, 08:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,426
Upvotes Received: 214
It sounds like a problem with the outside light. Do you have a meter or voltage checker to test ?

Diagram of Joeds wiring.....
Name:  lsd.jpg
Views: 20
Size:  18.4 KB

 
joed voted this post as helpful.
  #14  
Old 07-22-19, 06:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Got it

Thank you everyone for your help, the configuration everyone have worked. It was wiring done out in my barn which was the problem. Thanks again for your time!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes