Add a light and move a light

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-20-19, 09:10 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Add a light and move a light

hey everyone i am helping a family member with some home upgrades, replacing light fixtures, replace wall plugs etc and now we are in the garage, it is a small garage with only two lights, now one light we put in a 1600 lumen light bulb and that helped a whole lot but on the other side does not get as much light as part of the aircon system blocks the light which brings me to two questions.

1. in this first image he asked if it would be possible to add a light here but i told him no as i believe it is a junction box and that's not possible, please correct me if i am wrong.

Name:  gl1.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  26.4 KB

2. now about a year or so ago maybe longer they got their aircon system replaced (not sure why as the old one worked fine and i think someone came to their door about it or some bs and they fell for it and to me it doesn't seem like whoever did it didn't do a very good job) and now part of the aircon blocks a light and the light is right up against it! if you look at the second photo even know its hard to see the light bulb is up against it, so my question about this is how hard would it be to unhook and move it away from there?

Name:  gl2.jpg
Views: 99
Size:  71.5 KB

thanks in advance for all of your help and advice!
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-20-19 at 11:12 PM. Reason: added pics from links
  #2  
Old 07-20-19, 11:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,497
Received 1,423 Votes on 1,315 Posts
It looks like there are four cables in that first box. Typically a round box is not used as a junction which means that may be able to be used for a light if it's switched like the others. You'd need to open the box and check out the wiring. You'd need a way of checking for power to see if the switch did control that.

In your second location...... get a 4" round nail on plastic box just like the ones in the pictures. Install that box where you want the light. Remove the light from the original box. Only open the splices that the fixture is directly connected to. Add a short piece of cable from the old box to the new one. Blank off the old one with a round blank plate.

If the wiring troubles you..... post pictures of it...... How-to-insert-pictures-directly to the board.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-19, 01:21 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yeah i am going to need some help with the wiring, here is a picture, i do know from helping to replace the wall plugs that most have 2 hots and 2 neutrals but this is way more
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 07-26-19, 12:06 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hey everyone can anyone help me with the wiring above to install a third light?
 
  #5  
Old 07-26-19, 01:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,497
Received 1,423 Votes on 1,315 Posts
Did you read what I posted in post #2 ?

You need to check the wiring there to see if it's always live or switch controlled.
If it's always live and you put a light there..... it would need to be a pull-chain fixture.
 
  #6  
Old 07-26-19, 01:59 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thats fine with me, i did get a tester and with the switch on and off (i will double check this weekend) i think it was always on, but even with a pull switch would be fine with me and the family member
 
  #7  
Old 07-28-19, 11:14 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
okay i checked again and the black wires are always hot no matter if the light switch is on or off so a pull down will have to be used, unless someone says otherwise
 
  #8  
Old 07-28-19, 11:30 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 639
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
wasnt the light already on a switch? this is the one you just want to move away from a/c duct?
 
  #9  
Old 07-28-19, 11:43 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thats a light i want to move, but if you go up a little bit i mention that we want to put in a third light in what almost looks like a junction box but apparently isn't
 
  #10  
Old 07-28-19, 06:29 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,251
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
The first box shown is also a junction box.

It looks like you could loosen the box and staples and shift the box away from the ductwork.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: