Wiring T5 ballast for Standard 120v/15A Outlet

Old 07-28-19, 08:14 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring T5 ballast for Standard 120v/15A Outlet

Hello,
I am looking to re purpose these old T5 light fixtures. My main question is how do i wire them so i can simply plug them into standard wall socket. I checked my fuse box, the one for my outlets is 15A. The ballast says to only use 18AWG wire to work with it.

-Is it safe to assume white cable is hot, black is ground?
-and that these cables can be connected by murrets/soldering to a recycled male end, or is it crucial to use specified 18AWG wire all the way to the wall.
-What safety features should i look into buying. Re setting fuses or something to step down amperage?
-How to wire 4-6 lights together. Ballast says two per ballast.

I am not an electrician, but i have access to any tools to build pretty much anything.

looking to use these without burning down my house and don't want to resort to consulting an electrician unless absolutely necessary. Cheers!

Name:  lf1.jpg
Views: 53
Size:  45.9 KB

Name:  lf2.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  56.6 KB

Name:  lf3.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  45.4 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 07-29-19 at 06:14 PM. Reason: resized pictures
Sponsored Links
Old 07-29-19, 05:43 AM
Group Moderator
Received 315 Votes on 289 Posts
Black is hot, white is neutral and green is ground.

Since you want to plug this light into a socket you should use flexible cord like SJ and put a plug on the end. Since you will be using flex cord don't forget to use a strain relief where the cord enters your fixture. For connecting SJ to the light's wiring I would cut off the orange connector and use wire nuts since those push connectors don't work with stranded wire.

Old 07-29-19, 05:44 AM
Received 128 Votes on 116 Posts
Is it safe to assume white cable is hot, black is ground
NO. Black is hot. White is neutral. Green or bare is ground.

Old 07-29-19, 06:16 PM
Group Moderator
Received 508 Votes on 478 Posts