Ground plug-in light fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-07-19, 10:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground plug-in light fixture

I have a light fixture to which I'm attaching a wall plug. It has two insulated wires - the live and neutral - and a bare copper ground wire. I've connected the live and neutral wires to the plug. Now I need to figure out the best place to attach the bare ground wire. Any help would be much appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-07-19, 10:28 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,177
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Hi, the bare ground should attach to the green conductor in the box ,if there is one.
Post a pic of what you have there.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-19, 04:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, here are some pics. How might I make this work?

Name:  l1.JPG
Views: 40
Size:  37.2 KB

Name:  l2.JPG
Views: 38
Size:  84.3 KB

Name:  l3.JPG
Views: 38
Size:  77.8 KB

Name:  l4.JPG
Views: 39
Size:  34.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-08-19 at 05:03 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #4  
Old 08-08-19, 04:58 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,998
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
The bare would connect to the third prong of the cord cap.
 
  #5  
Old 08-08-19, 04:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,652
Received 517 Votes on 487 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Most all light fixtures sold in this country carry a UL rating or listing. That means the fixture is approved for use based on its design. That fixture is intended as a wall or ceiling mount fixture where it gets its ground from the box.

Technically..... in order to use it as a plug-in fixture.... it requires a three wire cord connected directly to the unit. Those splices between your power cord and the fixture are not code accepted and are not considered safe.
 
  #6  
Old 08-08-19, 04:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,110
Received 136 Votes on 122 Posts
You have the wrong cord. You need a three wire cord.
 
  #7  
Old 08-09-19, 07:08 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,177
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Hi, is that fixture designed to be hung buy a chain? Post a pic of the whole fixture, you certainly canít hang it that way.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 08-12-19, 09:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I ditched the previous scenario as a bad idea. I may get a three prong cord to attach to the lamp, or I may just find another light, since I'm a novice. I'll read into it. Thanks guys.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: