Ground plug-in light fixture


  #1  
Old 08-07-19, 10:13 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ground plug-in light fixture

I have a light fixture to which I'm attaching a wall plug. It has two insulated wires - the live and neutral - and a bare copper ground wire. I've connected the live and neutral wires to the plug. Now I need to figure out the best place to attach the bare ground wire. Any help would be much appreciated!
 
  #2  
Old 08-07-19, 10:28 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,600
Received 156 Likes on 142 Posts
Hi, the bare ground should attach to the green conductor in the box ,if there is one.
Post a pic of what you have there.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-19, 04:50 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok, here are some pics. How might I make this work?

Name:  l1.JPG
Views: 121
Size:  37.2 KB

Name:  l2.JPG
Views: 100
Size:  84.3 KB

Name:  l3.JPG
Views: 106
Size:  77.8 KB

Name:  l4.JPG
Views: 82
Size:  34.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-08-19 at 05:03 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #4  
Old 08-08-19, 04:58 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,401
Received 158 Likes on 139 Posts
The bare would connect to the third prong of the cord cap.
 
  #5  
Old 08-08-19, 04:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,951
Received 3,168 Likes on 2,845 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Most all light fixtures sold in this country carry a UL rating or listing. That means the fixture is approved for use based on its design. That fixture is intended as a wall or ceiling mount fixture where it gets its ground from the box.

Technically..... in order to use it as a plug-in fixture.... it requires a three wire cord connected directly to the unit. Those splices between your power cord and the fixture are not code accepted and are not considered safe.
 
  #6  
Old 08-08-19, 04:59 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,341
Received 462 Likes on 382 Posts
You have the wrong cord. You need a three wire cord.
 
  #7  
Old 08-09-19, 07:08 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,600
Received 156 Likes on 142 Posts
Hi, is that fixture designed to be hung buy a chain? Post a pic of the whole fixture, you certainly canít hang it that way.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 08-12-19, 09:49 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I ditched the previous scenario as a bad idea. I may get a three prong cord to attach to the lamp, or I may just find another light, since I'm a novice. I'll read into it. Thanks guys.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: