Replacing the stock switch with a LED latching switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-11-19, 02:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing the stock switch with a LED latching switch?

Hey All,

As above, is it possible to replace the stock switch on one of these led tape lights with an LED latching switch?

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Utilitech-96-in-Plug-In-Under-Cabinet-LED-Strip-Light/1000640209

The switches I'm looking at are these as it's for a kids bedroom project

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F283194306908

I imagine it's possible but the simple looking things are often the most complex.

Thanks - Rob
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-11-19, 02:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
Momentary(Self-reset),Latching(Self-locking)
That description is describing two different switch actions.
Are the switches strictly momentary or do they lock in on one push and unlock out on a second push ?
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-19, 03:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They have momentary and latching. I'd be using latching.
 
  #4  
Old 09-11-19, 03:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
That's correct.... you would use latching.
You would install that between the plug in power supply and the LED's.
What is the voltage listed on the power supply ?
 
  #5  
Old 09-11-19, 05:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Says 12v - 1A so I'm guessing It shouldn't need adjusting for adding the switch.
 

Last edited by Rob Purkiss; 09-11-19 at 06:21 PM.
  #6  
Old 09-11-19, 05:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
You should be all set. The wiring should be easy when you get the switches.
They should come with a terminal connection sheet.
 
  #7  
Old 09-11-19, 06:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I'm now wondering if I could also use this to power a group of these switches in parallel so the kids can turn them on and off for fun without impacting the light strip itself?

I was planning on wirring those up with AA batteries to keep it separate but if it's simple enough to add 10 switches to each circuit I could do that too?
 

Last edited by Rob Purkiss; 09-11-19 at 07:48 PM. Reason: Adding image
  #8  
Old 09-12-19, 06:25 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,423
Received 299 Votes on 273 Posts
Yes, you can have a switch controlling power to a series of other switches.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: