basement lighting questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-11-19, 07:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
basement lighting questions

I am rewiring my basement and have a number of things I am trying to figure out.
The basement is all wired on the same circuit, I have split the basement into 2 rooms, a bar and a laundry room. It is framed and I have ran the new switch for the laundry room. I still need to install the junction box off the main to control the laundry room separately.
In the bar I have installed all the recessed lighting that will consist of 1 dimmer switch that will control 2 recessed lights and 1 dimmer switch that will control 4 recessed lights. Currently there is 2 existing switches that control the stairway light and 1 light in the bar I will be replacing with a smoke detector.
Before wiring all of this I want to make sure I have a understanding of exactly what I need to do and my terminology is not very good... but here goes.
My plan is to run the main line of 12/2 to the switches in the 3 gang box and then out to the lights, which need to be wired together with 12/3 correct? Or do I need to run the 12/2 to each set of lights and then 12/3 between them and back to the switch which I believe is called a loop? The stairway light currently has a switch at the top and bottom of the stairs which I want to keep and is the 3rd in the gang box, not on a dimmer.
Side note: I have already ran 12/2 between all the recessed lights I want connected together, but after researching more I think this is wrong, if I can keep that bonus!

Please let me know if this all makes sense and what the correct way to finish this up is. I am getting this inspected so needs to be spot on.
Any diagrams or links to something similar would be great!
Thanks in advance.
Nick
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-11-19, 08:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,682
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
If you are bringing power to the switch box you do not have a switch loop. A 12/2 to the lights is all you need from each switch.
Basic light switch with power at switch

 
  #3  
Old 09-12-19, 07:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
and i can connect multiple lights with just the 12/2 correct?
Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 09-13-19, 05:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,682
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
Yes, just continue from light to light connecting black to black and white to white.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: