Verpan Onion Pendant Lamp Mystery

Old 10-21-19, 04:57 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Verpan Onion Pendant Lamp Mystery

Hello,
I am hoping someone out there can help me with a bit of a mystery. My wife bought an expensive Pendant Onion Lamp that I installed. I was an electrician once upon a time, so installing a fixture is pretty straight forward compared to high-rise commercial jobs I have worked on (in other words I understand the difference between a hot an neutral, etc).
I got the lamp wired and hung, was looking good, turned it on and it flickered slightly then everything seemed ok. I bent over to pick up some debris on the floor and caught the lamp with my head as I straightened. The lamp went out. Since then I have tried the following:
Replaced bulb (numerous types and styles, voltages, all confirmed in other fixtures)
Checked the connections in the junction box.
Re-connected all wires in the junction box.
Verified that there is current (using a volt-tic) on the hot wire right down into the socket
Wondered if it could be the neutral connection on the back of the socket BUT after removing the two anchor screws inside the socket, I can get the socket to twist inside the metal housing, but it won't pull forward at all. The metal housing is connected to a metal tube that runs inside the "onion" part of the lamp up to the top, when the wires exit the lamp and run up to the junction box.
Has anyone encountered a socket that won't come out after the anchor screws are removed? Can anyone think of another possibility I am overlooking?
I suppose it could be a problem with the neutral at the switch and I am fixated on the lamp because it went out when I hit it with my head.
Any opinions or suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Old 10-21-19, 08:23 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,922 Upvotes on 3,518 Posts
Welcome to the forums.