2-switch wireless ??3-way light switch kit

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-15-19, 11:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2-switch wireless ??3-way light switch kit

Hi All.

We have a light in our living room controlled by a single paddle switch in an inconvenient place, PLUS a vacant spot in a multi-gang wall switch in a convenient place in the same room.

So what I'm looking for is a WIRELESS kit comprising two switches: one to replace the existing switch and one to put in the vacant spot, such that we could turn on the light from either position; and if turned on from one switch, obviously, we could turn it off from the other switch, and vice versa.

I also DO NOT want any of these complications:
NO batteries to replace so both switches to be hard-wired
NO wi-fi
NO remote control
NO fancy home-automation options, control from my smartphone etc.

How hard can this be?!?!!?! Yet I can't find anything that simple. Maybe I'm just not searching for the right thing. What would this be called? Any ideas?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-19, 04:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,645
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
Sorry..... I know of a lot of switches but none that meet all your requirements.

I use the Lutron Caseta to create a three way circuit from a single active switch. It runs on a long life lithium battery and uses wireless technology. It does not have to be connected to your wifi and there is no need to use a phone app.
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 11-17-19, 05:58 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,613
Received 93 Votes on 85 Posts
What you want is a standard hardwired 3-way switch. It's the only way you'll get what you'll meet all your demands.

PJ...I also have the Caseta system. Works great! Do they have a timer function? Never looked at the literature.
 
  #4  
Old 11-17-19, 08:58 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,645
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
I believe you would need to pair it with a wireless system like Alexa for a timer function.
It's not something I've tried before.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: