2-switch wireless ??3-way light switch kit


  #1  
Old 11-15-19, 10:55 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
2-switch wireless ??3-way light switch kit

Hi All.

We have a light in our living room controlled by a single paddle switch in an inconvenient place, PLUS a vacant spot in a multi-gang wall switch in a convenient place in the same room.

So what I'm looking for is a WIRELESS kit comprising two switches: one to replace the existing switch and one to put in the vacant spot, such that we could turn on the light from either position; and if turned on from one switch, obviously, we could turn it off from the other switch, and vice versa.

I also DO NOT want any of these complications:
• NO batteries to replace – so both switches to be hard-wired
• NO wi-fi
• NO remote control
• NO fancy home-automation options, control from my smartphone etc.

How hard can this be?!?!!?! Yet I can't find anything that simple. Maybe I'm just not searching for the right thing. What would this be called? Any ideas?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 11-16-19, 03:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,096
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Sorry..... I know of a lot of switches but none that meet all your requirements.

I use the Lutron Caseta to create a three way circuit from a single active switch. It runs on a long life lithium battery and uses wireless technology. It does not have to be connected to your wifi and there is no need to use a phone app.
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 11-17-19, 04:58 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,957
Received 725 Upvotes on 641 Posts
What you want is a standard hardwired 3-way switch. It's the only way you'll get what you'll meet all your demands.

PJ...I also have the Caseta system. Works great! Do they have a timer function? Never looked at the literature.
 
  #4  
Old 11-17-19, 07:58 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,096
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
I believe you would need to pair it with a wireless system like Alexa for a timer function.
It's not something I've tried before.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: