Porch light stays on regardless of switch position


  #1  
Old 11-20-19, 08:40 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Porch light stays on regardless of switch position

porch light stays on regardless of switch position.Switchis new single pole.he
 
  #2  
Old 11-20-19, 09:41 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,630
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Have to provide more details than this. Like, did you replace the switch? Did it work before you replaced the switch? How was the old switch wired?
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-19, 09:48 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,877
Received 99 Votes on 87 Posts
Also did you just change the light fixture?
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-19, 09:49 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,970
Received 341 Votes on 307 Posts
Is the light just a simple light or is it a dusk to dawn/motion control? Send us a pic of how it's wired. Is there another switch in the same box?
 
  #5  
Old 11-21-19, 01:40 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,021
Received 14 Votes on 10 Posts
Is this switch a lighted switch? These use a little bit of power going through the bulb to power themselves. This tiny bit of power is often enough to light up the LED bulb in the light fixture, even when the fixture is switched off.

Andy
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-19, 02:16 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Consider buying and learning to use a voltage tester, neon circuit tester and maybe even a voltmeter. They are useful in answering the question, is that wire energized or not and will probably answer your question. You might even avoid injury in the future if you have one around and need to determine if something is energized and dangerous before touching it.
 
  #7  
Old 11-21-19, 07:28 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 2,029
Received 111 Votes on 97 Posts
If you placed the two wires removed from the old switch to the new switch, you can't have the condition described unless the old switch never controlled the light to start with and is controlling some other load.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: