Antique Lamps


  #1  
Old 11-23-19, 02:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: new mexico
Posts: 25
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Antique Lamps

I have 3 antique lamps that I want to wire together in order to place on a book shelf so that the wiring is unobtrusive. Each lamp is currently wired separately. Photo attached.
Name:  IMG_9309.JPG
Views: 140
Size:  1.77 MB

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 11-23-19, 03:28 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,338
Received 1,628 Likes on 1,461 Posts
So, do you have a question?

Do you want to hard wire them together to one plug?

Are you going to use a power strip or multi-socket extension cord?
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-19, 04:45 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 5,037
Received 322 Likes on 256 Posts
I get they want to wire them together as one but want the wires somewhat hidden, so you don’t see a bunch of wires showing as you see them now.
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-19, 04:50 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29,427
Received 1,574 Likes on 1,411 Posts
Mount them on a board that will conceal the wiring underneath.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #5  
Old 11-24-19, 10:53 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: new mexico
Posts: 25
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sorry, yes I am looking to wire them together and then be able to plug into the nearest receptacle. I will rewire with white cable to match the bookshelves. I appreciate your attention!
 
  #6  
Old 11-24-19, 10:59 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,338
Received 1,628 Likes on 1,461 Posts
So do you need help figuring out how to wire them together? Are you comfortable soldering or do you want to use a terminal strip or wire nuts?

 
  #7  
Old 11-24-19, 12:02 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: new mexico
Posts: 25
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I would prefer to use wire nuts
 
  #8  
Old 11-24-19, 01:03 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,341
Received 462 Likes on 382 Posts
You can't have open connections. They need to be within the lamp or a junction box.
I would put a separate cord on each lamp and plug into a splitter.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: