Antique Lamps

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-23-19, 02:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: new mexico
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Antique Lamps

I have 3 antique lamps that I want to wire together in order to place on a book shelf so that the wiring is unobtrusive. Each lamp is currently wired separately. Photo attached.
Name:  IMG_9309.JPG
Views: 89
Size:  1.77 MB

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-19, 03:28 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,050
Received 688 Votes on 635 Posts
So, do you have a question?

Do you want to hard wire them together to one plug?

Are you going to use a power strip or multi-socket extension cord?
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-19, 04:45 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,554
Received 126 Votes on 98 Posts
I get they want to wire them together as one but want the wires somewhat hidden, so you don’t see a bunch of wires showing as you see them now.
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-19, 04:50 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 26,224
Received 722 Votes on 668 Posts
Mount them on a board that will conceal the wiring underneath.
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 11-24-19, 10:53 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: new mexico
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, yes I am looking to wire them together and then be able to plug into the nearest receptacle. I will rewire with white cable to match the bookshelves. I appreciate your attention!
 
  #6  
Old 11-24-19, 10:59 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,050
Received 688 Votes on 635 Posts
So do you need help figuring out how to wire them together? Are you comfortable soldering or do you want to use a terminal strip or wire nuts?

 
  #7  
Old 11-24-19, 12:02 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: new mexico
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would prefer to use wire nuts
 
  #8  
Old 11-24-19, 01:03 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,626
Received 272 Votes on 235 Posts
You can't have open connections. They need to be within the lamp or a junction box.
I would put a separate cord on each lamp and plug into a splitter.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: